We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOM, WONDERFUL INN KEEPERS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Silver Thatch Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay, one of the best things about this inn is the friendliness of Terry and Jim. I really enjoyed talking with them in that fantastic cubby hole bar that they have. Thank you for the complimentary beer. Our John Tyler room was so pretty. Bathroom was cute with a shower stall, no tub, which was fine for us. The cookies, scones and Eggs Benedict breakfast were alll so tasty. Wish we could have stayed longer but this was a great location for sight seeing.

Room Tip: They are alll pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day and also when we get to say good morning to everyone! Best is when lots of guests are in the Pub enjoying a refreshing beverage and chatting! Lots of fun, just before we send you off to one of Charlottesville's great restaurants for dinner and a night out! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend at the Silver Thatch in mid-August located on neatly manicured grounds close to Charlottesville. Innkeepers Jim and Terri keep the place tidy. Rooms were clean, well appointed and included daily maid service. Full American breakfasts were homemade and excellent. This is a great location for local sight-seeing and visiting historical sites throughout the region. Bar serves wine and beer although we did not use it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monroe room and had no trouble with an adjacent room. Noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libertycall8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from our guests is welcome, and we ask that you let us know your thoughts on how we can do a better job of taking care of you. Send us an email and address it directly to Terri under the subject 'Our Stay.' Remember, YOU are the reason we're here. Thank you! Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

A delight!

Atmosphere and hospitality were a joy. Rooms darling, common area well-curated. Top-notch treatment. Tasty and thoughtful meals.

Highly recommend, particularly for travelers that love b&bs. History-rich.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisgood160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a spinal fusion at Martha Jefferson Hospital in February of 2012. It was the third back surgery in less than 14 months. Since I was driving myself to a check-up with my doctor, I looked into staying overnight in Charlottesville to rest my back before returning home. I did a lot of research and found the Silver Thatch Inn. What a blessing it turned out to be! I stayed in the George Washington Room and it was beautiful and the bed was wonderful for my back. Jim was out of town, so I missed the opportunity to meet him; however, I met Terri and she is a wonderful hostess and really went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast is served in a beautiful, sunny room and the food was scrumptious. I also got to meet Spike, Terri's sweet-as-could-be dog. In fact, the first night was so wonderful and relaxing, I stayed a second night! The inn is right off of 29 and close to many attractions. I can't wait for my next back check-up and my next visit to the Silver Thatch Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words! And don't hesitate to let us know what you'd like to see on your next visit. Send an email directed to 'Terri' with your comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ended up at the Silver Thatch Inn by accident - everything else was booked the weekend we wanted to go to Charlottesville because UVA was having its annual reunion weekend. Boy did we luck out. The Silver Thatch is run by owners Jim and Terri Petrovits and is the oldest B & B in the area. The place reeks of history. It's about a 15 minute easy drive from Market Street, the pedestrian mall and UVA, so it's not in the heart of town. However, to us, that was a good thing. It's in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood; we were lulled to sleep every night by crickets and tree frogs. The pillow top mattresses are amazingly comfortable - the three nights I spent at the Inn were the bests nights of sleep I had all year. In the morning each day we were treated to a first class breakfast. The first morning we had excellent Eggs Benedict and potatoes; the second day there was fresh fruit and buckwheat waffles with bananas and pecans. If there is a better breakfast anywhere, I haven't had it. Little touches like cookies, fresh water bottles in your room every day, and oversized, soft bath towels abound. We had two rooms, both of them exceptionally clean and roomy. I could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: We didn't have kids with us, but there is a community pool right down the road. There is no fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you so much! Be sure to send us an email with your thoughts for improving our service directed to 'Terri.' We grow because of you, our guests. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second stay at the Silver Thatch. The Inn is in beautiful condition and the innkeepers welcoming and warm. The breakfast room is sunny and breakfast was wonderful. The inn has been encroached upon by suburbia, but it is still a quiet oasis. Our room had perfect climate control when it was sticky and warm outside, comfortable bed, and good reading lights. We slept really well. This will remain "our place" in Charlottesville.

The restaurant is closed, Jim and Terri are looking for someone to operate it. Not a problem for us.

Room Tip: Each one is different. Chat with the innkeepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us - again! And so appreciate your kind words. Makes us feel like we're succeeding at what we love to do! Trying to maintain the feel of an Inn with the rapid growth around us in Hollymead has certainly been a challenge, that's for sure. But we've grown to love our neighborhood, and hopefully guests will appreciate that they can enjoy an early morning walk or run along the paths and to Hollymead Lake, or just enjoy a quiet morning coffee on the patio away from the hustle & bustle of the city. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable inn, welcoming hosts, fantastic breakfasts, beautiful and charming setting, Then this is the place to stay,
We stayed here graduation weekend and my husband and I couldn't have picked a better place in Charlottesville,
Terri and Jim are wonderful innkeepers and you feel it the minute you walk through the front door,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondieEastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much! We appreciate reviews both complimentary and constructive, and pay attention to every one. We try to make every stay a wonderful and memorable experience, and reviews like this one make us feel like we've received an 'A' on our report card. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
6.5 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#12 of 37 in Charlottesville
723 reviews
5.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
720 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn at 400 West High
The Inn at 400 West High
#4 of 16 in Charlottesville
150 reviews
7.2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Thatch Inn

Address: 3001 Hollymead Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-7422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $219 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful farmhouse dating back to 1780, Silver Thatch Inn offers 7 lovely guest rooms (The Cottage is perfect for up to 4 couples, or reserve the entire Inn for gatherings), room to roam & hang in the Main Inn, and lots of hospitality. Included is Terri's delicious full breakfast each morning, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking, N/A beverages, our community swimming pool, a patio & backyard to enjoy peace & quiet with an adult beverage or coffee, & a great neighborhood for walking & jogging. The Hessian room built in 1780, 1812, 1937 & 1985, the Inn is full of history! All rooms offer private baths, 4 with fireplaces, all queen or king beds. Jefferson's Monticello, UVA, Monroe's Highland, Monticello Wine Trail, Brew Ridge Trail to sample Virginia's award winning wines, artisan brews & ciders, all within a short drive in our gorgeous Virginia countryside. Check out our Events, just added - Tea & History w/Rick Britton, & new this year, Spirit Investigations! And always, our Specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Silver Thatch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Thatch Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing