We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay for our Sister's Reunion!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silver Thatch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Silver Thatch Inn
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay for our Sister's Reunion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

First off, Teri is one of the hardest working people I know. Starting with breakfast and continuing throughout the day, she handles all details making sure that any possible need one has is met. From the welcoming complimentary glass of wine, to the wonderfully comfortable beds and luxurious linens, we were able to relax and enjoy our reunion. And, having just read another review, I can say that our room, Zachary Taylor, had a whisper quiet heat pump with an easy to negotiate remote to keep the room perfectly cooled. And, though I also found Jim more stand-offish, he cooks breakfast, dinner and in between, I believe he was doing most of the renovation work on their porch area, so perhaps it had more to do with exhaustion than a lack of warmth. and, truth be told, I am not looking for the company of anyone but my loved ones when I travel. This place is truly a great find! We will be back for future reunions.

Room Tip: Zachary Taylor has 2 Queen beds, so you can split the room cost with a sister or travel companion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you so much! Feedback is greatly appreciated, positive and constructive. We hope you had a great time with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    14
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
110
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked one night at the Inn based on the reviews. This is one of the only times that I feel a bit like TripAdvisor has let me down. I wouldn't stay at this Inn again. The location is off the beaten path and very cozy, which I loved. There are two buildings and we stayed in the John Tyler room. It looks perfectly charming in the photograph. However, it's more like a run down Holiday Inn room inside...and for $200 a night!! I didn't feel like the room was clean--the upkeep was severely lacking. I didn't particularly even want to shower there. The air conditioner was an extremely loud wall unit--in this area you definitely need AC but I hated to turn it on because then I couldn't hear myself think! The carpet was an old, tattered green. I don't go out of my way looking for problems in B&Bs (sometimes I see photos on TA and can't believe how people go out of their way to do things like take photos under the sink or that sort of thing) however this room screamed Holiday Inn (or worse) to me. The carpet wasn't even nailed down properly. Breakfast was fine. The innkeeper, Teri, was friendly enough and busy running around serving everyone. We were all at separate tables in the restaurant. It became obvious to my husband and I that the innkeepers' first love is the restaurant, not the B&B. Breakfast was delicious. No choices were involved, but we had a delicious belgian waffle (among other courses). I saw the menu for the restaurant (they serve dinners) and it seemed fine but over priced with a bowl of "fancy" pasta going for more than $20. On our way out, we walked by the man who I am sure was the owner, Jim, and he continued talking to the staff member next to him rather than acknowledging us. (We understood from Teri that Jim was the breakfast cook and based on this man's age/attire we thought it was him.) We walked by several times back and forth and he didn't say anything. So, although this wouldn't be enough to make me stay/not stay again it was just one more little thing that added up to create this feeling of discontent as a whole. All of this stood out particularly since we'd come from the prettiest, friendliest B&B ever located in Asheville. Overall, between the steep price and the less than stellar room, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loves_Travel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Jim and I absolutely love being Innkeepers and love meeting so many wonderful guests from all over the world. We also very much appreciate constructive comments and take them to heart and strive for improvement, but we don't wait for comments to make improvements to the Inn. The Tyler Room is a favorite room of guests, and would never be thought of as a Holiday Inn. Jim and I re-tiled & remodeled the bath outselves about 5 years ago so everything is fairly new. The heating unit is a Carrier and one of the best. While it is about 10 years old, it is not horribly loud, but neither is it completely silent. The carpet is also about 10 years old, is not tattered, and was recently shampooed. The chairs were recently reupholstered, and this past weekend new window treatments were installed. The Inn is a package of B&B and dining. We decided from experience not to have communal seating for breakfast, nor to require that grace be said as many B&Bs do. We have found that guests will talk with each other if they wish, or they may enjoy their coffee and paper quietly. We are a fine dining restaurant as the majority of our guests enjoy this level of service, food, wine and spirits. Jim and I are extremely proud of our staff, our food and our Inn. I'm so sorry you chose not to have dinner with us. You missed a great opportunity to experience truly good cuisine! And just yesterday, June 26, Jim & I completed the remodeling of the Sunroom breakfast room installing new wood flooring, repainting, & new window treatments will arrive soon. Terri Petrovits, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I just came back from our weekend stay at the B&B and it was a great, relaxing with exceptional gourmet food.We loved meeting Terri and Jim. They are wonderful!
Our stay was just wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgvgivdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Had a great time staying at the Silver Thatch Inn! The innkeepers were extremely accommodating. We had breakfast there two days and it was phenomenal. Eggs benedict, fresh fruit with lemon cream and granola. Just to name a few. The owners are chefs so it makes the experience extra special. We had a great dinner for four at the inn also. They have a cute little pub called Iggys. We enjoyed some of the local micro brews and Virginia wines. If you go you can't miss a tour of Monticello and there a some great wineries too. We loved Barboursville!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieq9Hampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, ME
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at this Inn just one night (unfortunately!).
We loved everything in it, the charming of the common areas, the welcoming room that we had, the service and the wondeful breakfast. Unfortunately when we arrived we already had a late lunch, so we couldn't enjoy the dinner.
The morning after, talking with other guests, we realized what we missed: a wonderful experience.
Terri, the owner, couldn't be more helpful, she really opened us the door of Charlotteville.
The sad thing was to leave, but we will definitely come back,

Claudio & Roberta

Room Tip: The Washington room is very charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine_Stay_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I had planned a surprise trip for my wife's birthday and we stayed at this quaint and beautiful inn. The accommodations were great (we took over 2 rooms in the cottage) and the food was excellent. The owners could not have been nicer and we felt very welcome. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night. We will definitely be back. We're still dreaming about the buckwheat pancakes! Fantastic B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stank0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We went last night after a friend recommended the restaurant. We were the only two people in the restaurant, you'd normally consider a bad sign. Even though we were wary we ended up blissful and greatly surprised about the quality we just received. What a fantastic dinner. In Charlottesville there are many many excellent restaurants but this one did stick out that I had no choice but to leave this review. Our waiter Peter was great, very professional and personable - really one that mastered his profession. The restaurant is charming, romantic, unique and traditional.
The food was unique and had complex but down to earth taste. We had the sweetbreads, scallops, duck and the lamb shank. Each one of those dishes exceeded our high expectations. The sweetbreads were amazing, gravy the best I ever had reminding me of something you would serve with wild game. I am from the south of Germany and used to dream about the traditional gravy I am missing from my home country.
Duck is one of our favorite dishes and this entree exceeded the fabulous duck dishes we order in Paris. My husband said it was the best most tender duck he ever ordered. The lamb shank was perfect, fall of the bone buttery taste with a glaze that leaves you wanting more. The jumbo scallops were in fact jumbo and perfectly cooked (which his hard enough with scallops). My husband and I kept exchanging bites as we both kept wanting more of our own and the other ones dish. The only thing that would have kept me from writing this review is to keep this the hidden gem it is.
We did order dessert as well, peanut butter cake with ice cream which was good, but didn't reach to the quality and excellence of the other dishes. I believe we made the wrong dessert choice and the other dessert options like the apple bread pudding would have been much better.
The one drawback you might encounter is that it does take time to prepare those meals. If you look to get in and out in an hour, it might be the wrong restaurant and wrong quality you are looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.6 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.0 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Thatch Inn

Property: The Silver Thatch Inn
Address: 3001 Hollymead Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-7422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Thatch Inn is a VA country farmhouse offering 7 guest rooms & southern hospitality. Your stay includes a delicious full breakfast each morning, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking, N/A beverages, our community swimming pool, great neighborhood for walking/jogging/birding, relaxing patio & backyard for sipping a craft beer or iced tea. Circa 1780 with additions in 1812, 1937 & 1985, the Inn is steeped in history! All rooms are individually climate controlled, some with wood burning fireplaces, all with private baths. We don't share & we don't want you to! Iggy's Wine & Brew Pub, a neighborhood pub at the Inn, offers lite fare, local & national craft & traditional favorite brews, tasty wine & live music by the locals on occasion. Open Wed-Sat 5 - 8-ish. Many great area restaurants, Jefferson's Monticello, the University of Virginia, Monroe's Ashlawn-Highland, Monticello Wine Trail and Brew Ridge Trail to sample Virginia's award winning wines and artisan brews and hard ciders. All within a short drive in the gorgeous Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Thatch Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing