We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Monticello
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 South Street Inn(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graduate Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
487
69
14
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
487
69
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfront porchjefferson roomb bsteam showerhouse is beautifulbed and breakfastfour poster bedblueberry pancakesexcellent hostsbreakfast was deliciousmichie tavernhistoric sitescookiesromantic weekendshort drivethoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 576 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's all in the welcome. We got in after dark and were greeted by Jenny at the door. She offered us a glass of wine, showed us around, and offered us some "biscuits" or pecan cookies she made for the evening. Breakfast each day was delightful and plentiful.
We stayed in the Jefferson room, because Monticello, right. The bed was comfortable and the room was a perfect atmosphere. The heated floor in the bathroom is a nice modern touch. Best part: the super soft bathrobes.
We opted for the wine tour that is run through the B&B. It was a great deal and a fun activity.
Everything you'd want from a Bed & Breakfast

Room Tip: Can't go wrong, but you are next to Monticello
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here one night in a brief escape from DC. The house and amenities are great. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms newly renovated (at least in the two rooms we saw). Jenny cooked a fantastic breakfast and accommodated my gluten allergy. She even left gluten-free cookies for me when we came in from dinner. It was very considerate. Breakfast was delicious and welcoming. All the guests convened around the table while Jenny served great pancakes, fruit, rolls, sausage and homemade maple or blueberry syrup. When we left the hostess stated she wished we had stayed longer so we could get to know each other better. I had the same feeling.

Some other folks staying at the Inn used their wine tour service and highly recommended it. Overall a great experience, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Charlottesville and wanting a quiet, peaceful escape.

Room Tip: Private bathrooms, but some are outside of the room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I decided to meet friends in Charlottesville for the weekend and chose The Inn at Monticello. What a pleasant and wonderful find this was. We were greeted immediately by Jenny, one of staff at the Inn, who was delightful and showed us our rooms and all the amenities. We chose the green room with the fireplace and it was cozy and delightful. We were able to sit with our friends in the common area downstairs in front of a roaring fire and talk as the evening would end with fresh treats presented by the Inn. Breakfast was wonderful, full course, gourmet delights and we never left hungry. The Innkeepers, Carolyn and Bob, were full of information and a pleasure to meet. Location was excellent as we were literally down the road from Monticello and Ash Lawn Highland. My husband and I will certainly visit this property again when in Charlottesville!

Room Tip: We loved the room with the fireplace, I believe there are two, however, in the summer this would not matter. Having seen all the rooms, each one is beautiful and unique in its own way.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Inn at Monticello provided a spacious, clean and comfortable room in a beautiful setting with a good, hearty breakfast each morning. The owners, Bob and Carolyn, made our first trip to Charlottesville a memorable experience. Bob helped us to pick two restaurants for dinner, which were simply terrific. He also helped us find our way around to the Univ. of Virginia campus, Monticello and to other local landmarks. And everything was done in a relaxing and comfortable manner.

We stayed in the Jefferson Room, which was spacious and comfortable. The room is located on the first floor off of the living and dining room area. We did not notice any noise from other people in the common areas, but we did notice the great smells coming from the kitchen each morning. There was a small deck off the bedroom, which had several comfortable chairs under a shade tree. The large bathroom appeared to be relatively new with plenty of room. The bathroom had a step-in shower/tub combination.

The Inn had the special touches that make a good B&B experience into a great one. There were fresh baked breads and cookies in the evening, water and drinks in the refrigerator. The rooms had fresh soaps, towels and other comforts.

The Inn is located about five minutes from Monticello and also a short drive from downtown Charlottesville. We enjoyed staying at a country inn located on a beautiful piece of property so close to the town and historic sites. There is also a walking/hiking trail across the road from the Inn property, which leads to a two-mile trail to Monticello (we did not try it).

The owners live on site, and treat the home and their guests as we would hope to treat someone staying in our home. The Inn at Monticello is truly deserving of all of its good reviews. We will recommend the Inn at Monticello to our friends and family, and plan to stay there on future visits.

Room Tip: The Jefferson Room is on the first floor off of the main living room and dining room. It also has an entry from the back yard onto a small deck.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandRena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I just got back from the Inn at Monticello. We did Friday and Saturday night. It was an amazing experience. We wanted to take a trip away for the weekend to a place we hadn't been too and decided on this B&B right in the middle of everything. It's a 5 min drive to Monticello and the Downtown District. Perfect location.

More about the Inn itself. The owners Bob and Carolyn were very accommodating before our arrival. I heard back promptly by email from Bob a few times based on some questions I had and he even called me to confirm the wine tasting tour they host and held tickets for us for a Monticello tour. We also had to cancel our original trip in December due to a funeral and Bob was very accommodating to our situation. It was very much appreciated.

We stayed in the Madison room on the first floor. No fireplace in the room but it was fine, the common living room had one and it was warm in the room at night anyway. The bathroom was recently redone so it was really nice. No tv in the room which was perfect. A nice cd player was in there with some classical music. I really do believe that it's the little things that the Inn does that sets it apart and takes it to the next level.

I would say that what really made our experience was the Innkeeper Jenny. Her British accent was as delightful as she was. She could easily run a place twice the size without compromising service. Incredible. Both nights we were offered a glass of wine and homemade biscuits which were delicious. Also, we were informed upon check-in that breakfast was at 8:30am. If there was a choice of not attending it, we didn't receive it and with GREAT reason too. Jenny labored the night before prepping a homemade breakfast. We heard and smelled it! The first morning was gourmet french toast, a fruit medley, crispy bacon, homemade muffins, a specially made-for-the-inn coffee infused with orange which was something I've never had before. Delicious. The second morning everyone at the table was ecstatic to see what Jenny had cooked up for the morning. Again a fantastic meal. One of the guests had a gluten allergy so she made her a whole separate plate to accommodate her, which was pretty awesome. If you stay at the Inn, which is highly recommended if that wasn't clear by now, and you skip the breakfast then shame on you.

Breakfast was served by Jenny to everyone staying at the Inn together. She called it the family breakfast. We got along incredibly well with everyone staying there. She found ourselves coming home early from the bars in order to hangout all together in the living room to play games and just overall good conversation. I love meeting new people and hearing their stories and it was a phenomenal group of people to get to know.

We also signed up for the wine tour they hosted. It was 3 couples staying at the Inn who went. We had a tour guide, Melanie, drive us around to 5 different wine tastings in the Charlottesville area. It was a worthwhile day for sure. We joked around the entire day with the seven of us and tasted easily a couple dozen wines and purchased or 7 bottles by the end of the day. At the second winery, we sat and had a catered lunch prepared for us by Jenny which was incredible as you may guess by now. Everything homemade, obviously. The lunch was included with the cost of the tour which was nice.

A lengthy review I'll admit but the best time to write one is right after the experience!

Thank you very much for the world class service Jenny. You are a fantastic cook and a wonderful hostess! Lastly, a shout out to everyone we stayed with this weekend. The experience wouldn't have been the same without you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasV345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews