We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, outstanding hospitality, gracious home”
Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, outstanding hospitality, gracious home”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We wanted something near Monticello and were very pleased with our experience at the Inn. The hosts were wonderful, the property is well located and comfortable, the breakfasts were nicey prepared and served. An excellent experience.

Room Tip: An upstairs room will give more privacy than those that empty onto the reception/dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    67
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
290
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawling
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I don't frequent B&B's often but we wanted to try this inn due to the many great reviews on TA. We arrived early and Bob (the owner) allowed us to drop off our bags. We honestly didn't spend a lot of time at this inn because we were on the go so much! The inn and its owner are both so inviting. Everything is clean and fresh. There is wine, beer and snacks served in the afternoon but we were too busy to partake. Bob creates a beautiful breakfast. Yummy blueberry pancakes served with warm blueberry and maple syrup and fresh fruit.
The inn is VERY close to Monticello. Great location.
If you enjoy B&B'S, you will enjoy The Inn at Monticello.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I really enjoyed our 2-night stay. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and the owners/staff were a "10". Really liked the fact that the inn is located about 1 mile of 64 making access super-easy.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Jefferson room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This beautiful and comfortable B&B is right down the hill from Jefferson's Monticello in a bucolic spot. The owners are gracious and friendly, and the breakfast (including the coffee) was sensational.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first time at a Bed and Breakfast Inn & we weren't disappointed. The Inn is beautifully decorated and situated. Our room was lovely with antique furnishings & a nicely remodeled bathroom. The grounds are full of lovely flowers and interesting to walk through. The owners provided an evening snack and beverages which included local wines. The outstanding breakfast of blueberry pancakes, sausage links & fresh peaches was terrific. The guests who also took part in breakfast were very nice and it was interesting to hear where they were from & what sights they were planning on seeing. We really enjoyed our brief stay & look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Inn at Monticello is a small B&B located in a quiet setting, but very close to downtown Charlottesville and to Monticello. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The Inn is comfortable. The setting is tranquil and I would liked to have had more time to explore the property. It was nice enjoying the porch in the morning with a cuppa joe and in the evening to watch the fireflies. The breakfast is served family style, which was a nice way to meet the other guests. The food was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room (now the Monroe Room). It was very comfortable and the a/c cooled this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insatiable891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed one great night in a wonderful old house. We seldom get a night without the kids so when one comes along we try to enjoy everything about it. The Inn is a good jump off to down town Charlottesville with interesting shops and restaurants. Give yourself two or three days to fully enjoy the quiet of a distant owl at night, lightning bugs or a rabbit running across the yard in the morning sun. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with good conversation from people we would have never have met in a hotel.

Room Tip: The green has a fireplace if it's a cold night and great A/C if it's hot outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccol5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,696 reviews
2.0 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
694 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Property: Inn at Monticello
Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing