We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and excellent stay”
Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and excellent stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed the convenience of the Inn at Montecello to the local attractions, mainly the President's homes and the Downtown Mall. The Innkeepers are very knowledgeable of the area and know great places to eat and visit. The breakfast, I must say is amazing. We were there two mornings and they did not disappoint. We would recommend to family, friends and would choose to stay there again, if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thomas Jefferson room. It is on the first floor, small porch to sit outside and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    67
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
291
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We loved staying at this B&B. The bed was very comfortable, Carolyn made us feel so welcome and the breakfast was fabulous. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Charlottesville or go to UVA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here one night end April in The Cottage. This was cosy and comfortable and the magnificient bed provided us with an excellent night's sleep. Bob recommended a very nice local pizza restauraunt a few minutes drive away for an evening meal and Jenny provided a fantastic breakfast the next day.

I would recommend this B&B if you are staying in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPKATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Bob & Carolyn are great host. They knows the area as well as the local restraunts.The house is beautiful with nice furnishing. however, our upstair room is quite small with a king size bed taken up most of the room. The bathroom is small (obvious an add-on) and construction quality is not good with poor furnishings. The breakfast is quite nice. The lawn is well maintained and the porch is really nice to sit around and enjoy the morning paper before breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room is facing the back with a roof view. Maybe select a room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddy1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Innkeepers Bob and Carolyn were excellent hosts and made you feel right at home in their Inn. Even though the Inn was full during our stay, they spent time with each guest and tried to address our needs along the way. Rooms were quiet and well kept. The breakfast and afternoon wine tasting were excellent. You need about 3 days or more to see all the historic venues close by the Inn. We will return!!

Room Tip: Staying in the cottage was an added benefit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything about the Inn at Monticello was first class. The rooms, breakfast, social hour and hospitality of the inn keepers made us feel like we were at home. This is the second time we have stayed at this inn and will continue to go back when we are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greattrip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Compared to other B&B's we stayed in on our recent holiday to the States we found this one to be very expensive and somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The house is beautiful and in a delightful setting very close to Monticello, Jefferson's house, which we had visited earlier in the day. Our room was comfortable, with a large ensuite shower room, but we missed having a bedside table on each side of the bed and there were no glasses or cups for a nightime drink of water. We were welcomed by Bob who told us about the history of the house and who offered us a glass of wine on arrival. We didn't met Carolyn until the next morning when she introduced herself as she served breakfast. There was no-one around when we left the B&B. We felt that if it hadn't been for the other 2 guests, who were great company, that our stay would have been rather sombre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Racingfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
2.0 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Property: Inn at Monticello
Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing