We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Retreat”
Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed October 14, 2004

Our trip to Charlottesville in October 2004 was our third, and the hospitality at the Foxfield Inn keeps us coming back! Mary Pat and John treat us like dear friends, and always make us feel at home. Our breakfasts are always quite tasty and beautifully presented (I don't think we've had the same meal twice!). You simply can't go wrong when you stay at the Foxfield Inn! Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
399
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2004

Our weekend stay was delightful, from the homemade scones and muffins to watching the sun set from the gazebo, we had both romance and relaxation. We enjoyed the extra amenities available like the private jacuzzi and the outdoor spa. Our specious room had a fireplace with mantel, crisp white sheets on a antique style bed, and a kitchenette available outside the room with oatmeal cookies, fresh coffee, and a place to store your wine. Mary Pat and John had restaurant recommendations that were superb and provided precise directions as well. We felt comfortable keeping our own timetable and enjoying the comforts provided including falling asleep in their hammock. We intend to return again and again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2004

We began our little vacation to Virginia with a scenario that had dangerous potential for becoming a great first chapter for a gothic novel. Arriving at the Foxfield Inn shortly before nightfall, after a grueling, 7-hr. drive, dark clouds were gathering ominously, a steady, annoying rain was already making for a really bad hair day, and our main meal for the trip had consisted of fast food fries, soggy style, consumed earlier that afternoon.

Chapter two changed the story, and the setting, fast. The door to Foxfield opened into a cheery, well-lit entranceway, and John and Mary Pat welcomed us into a bright environment of casual elegance. The early evening light still filled the rooms through all the many large, well-placed windows. Everything about the place was shiny, crisp and inviting. Furnishings and woodwork had a well-crafted, spiffy look. Beyond the windows, gorgeous gardens provided a perfect backdrop; we were starting to feel right at home. The hosts recommended a fantastic, perfect "first night" restaurant for weary travelers, within minutes from their bucolic, country haven, and our elegant, pristine room with a large, Jacuzzi tub offered shelter from the storm in style. Breakfasts were unique and delicious.

We quickly got the idea and stayed an extra night. This inn offers southern hospitality and congeniality at its best. In any kind of weather, this is the place.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2004

Mary Pat and John will make your stay at The Foxfield Inn a very pleassant and memorable experience. Their hospitality is wonderful, the accomodations are extremely comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. The inn is located close to many sites in Charlottesville - if you're interested in nature, history, art, shopping, or just about anything else is can be found nearby. We hope to return sometime soon.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2004

We were given a gift certificate for a weekend at the Foxfield Inn, a bed and breakfast located in the Charlottesville area. What a great place! From it's beautiful location just west of the Foxfield steeplechase in the mountains of Virginia, to the hospitality of the innkeepers, we had a most enjoyable time. My husband and I took a weekend away from our 3-month old daughter and Mary Pat and John just doted on us! They made us feel so comfortable, like we were at home. Their bed and breakfast is outside the city, yet close enough to enjoy the fine restaurants and historic district of Charlottesville. We'll definitely be back in the future!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 3, 2004

WOW! What a great place!!! After being away from my wife/family for 18 months, both Mary Pat & John treated us life family... We both had a WONDERFUL time. Their Inn had everything we could have wanted (and well kept). The food and comfort level could not have been better. The other guest staying there were very nice and from all over the country. We also chose a package that gave us a LOVELY evening at a (5 STAR) restaurant in the local downtown area.

Mary Pay & John both are GREAT people... and take the time to "care" about each guest.

They made us feel at home, and like family... while being away from home.

We will be returning here again, and recommend this B&B to EVERYONE!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2004

The Foxfield Inn in Charolottesville, VA is a country oasis a short disctance from the hustle and bustle of city and university life. As enjoyable as the inn was - the owners, John and Mary Pat, are gracious hosts who serve an outstanding breakfast in the most charming of environments. The grounds are restful, relaxing and invite you to prolong your visit. Extra attention to detail and the unexpected amenities included are numerous and recall a bit of home. You can't get this at a hotel!

Although we had to leave early the time we spent at the Foxfield Inn was a highlight of the short trip to Virginia. We wanted relaxation in an outstanding environment with people to whom we could communicate. We found this at the Foxfield Inn.

The casual traveler can enjoy a day or a week in comfortable surroundings in this easy to locate B & B. Ginger and I highly recommend the Foxfiled Inn as a place of complete relaxation.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,717 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
704 reviews
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
347 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing