We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the Garden room which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The inn and grounds are beautiful and close to everything visitors want to do in Charlottesville. Kathryn's breakfasts are superb, especially for those of us with dietary restrictions. I was treated to a homemade and delicious gluten-free and dairy-free version of every dish even though I was the only guest on a special diet. Wow! We enjoyed the hot tub and the fireplace in our room in the evenings. We have stayed at several inns before but this one tops them all with its overall quality, welcoming hosts, and outstanding breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
399
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband just spent a long weekend in Charlottesville for our 8th anniversary and stayed at the Foxfield Inn. It was PERFECT! The house is beautifully appointed and completely charming. Dan and Katherine are warm and welcoming and made hosting 5 different couples look like the easiest thing in the world. Our room was lovely, the bed and sheets and linens were so luxurious and comfortable. Our room had a fireplace and the bathroom was large and fabulous. But the thing that stands out the most was the incredible breakfasts!! Wow! Each course was more delicious than the next and everything was amazingly fresh and totally gourmet. We had a wonderful experience and will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We love having people stay with us when they are celebrating a special event in the lives - like an anniversary. Glad to hear that they enjoyed the Hunt Country Eggs and the Blueberry Strata we served them while they were here. I remember they got a kick out of having homemade ice cream for dessert one morning - something that everyone should have once in their lifetime as there isn't a better way to start the day than with ice cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dan and Kathryn know when you need assistance and when you want to go it without their help. The rooms are elegant, yet modern and spotless. The breakfasts were wonderfuly unique and delicious. Great central location for visiting wineries, downtown Chartottesville, any of the "must see sights" in the area. I don't know how you could find a better B&B in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at this Inn and we weren't disappointed. Dan and Kathryn are very attentive hosts, the Inn is spotless from top to bottom, and the food was superb! We even had ice cream for breakfast one morning! The Inn is conveniently located to the Presidents' homes, the wineries in the area and the downtown area. We weren't disappointed and would recommend it to any one!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the large jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The first impression of this peaceful Inn that stands out for us is the cleanliness and all the little amenities that our wonderful hosts, Kathryn and Dan, provided during our stay. Our room, the Rose Room, had a gas fireplace with remote, bay window with view of the wooded lot or blackout shades if you wanted to sleep in. A huge bathroom!!! A lovely,soaking tub with fragrant bath beads if you like and a separate shower and oh, there are fluffy bathrobes and slippers for you too. Common rooms offered many varieties of books, tables to sit inside or out on the patio, only 1 TV in Inn but that is fine with us. The snack area was impressive with such variety of items to satisfy most everyone but the best item for us was Kathryn's homemade cookies!! Yummy!! Kathryn serves a three course breakfast everyday. She is an artist in her presentation as well as a fabulous cook. The breakfasts were delicious!! If you had any food allergies or special requests, she is happy to accommodate. Our stay was very pleasant, comfortable and too short......we definitely will be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for our 2 year anniversary and chose Foxfield primarily because of its centralized location to the local wineries, breweries, and downtown C-ville shops. We were rewarded with a beautiful room, gourmet breakfast, and personable/knowledgeable/accommodating inn keepers. If your looking for a refined, yet cozy place to retreat, stay at this gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were recently guests at the Foxfield Inn for two nights. We stayed in the Dogwood room, which was not particularly fancy but spacious, very clean, and had great views of the lovely backyard. The property is nicely landscaped and features many mature trees and opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. The community areas of the inn were nicely appointed and immaculate. The snack area offers cookies, tea/coffee, water, and a mini fridge for guests, if needed. Snacks and wine were also available late in the day. The highlight of our stay were the 3-course breakfasts, which were excellent. Kathryn is mindful of those with food allergies and provided snacks and prepared breakfast to meet these requirements, which was greatly appreciated and delicious! (Some of the best gluten free muffins I've ever had!). Dan and Kathryn were both very friendly and offered helpful suggestions for things to do in the area. Overall, we would recommend this inn- it is nicely located just outside of downtown in a more country setting- a peaceful refuge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HealthNut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
692 reviews
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
346 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
848 reviews
8.4 mi away
Inn at Monticello
Inn at Monticello
#3 of 16 in Charlottesville
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing