We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband just spent a long weekend in Charlottesville for our 8th anniversary and stayed at the Foxfield Inn. It was PERFECT! The house is beautifully appointed and completely charming. Dan and Katherine are warm and welcoming and made hosting 5 different couples look like the easiest thing in the world. Our room was lovely, the bed and sheets and linens were so luxurious and comfortable. Our room had a fireplace and the bathroom was large and fabulous. But the thing that stands out the most was the incredible breakfasts!! Wow! Each course was more delicious than the next and everything was amazingly fresh and totally gourmet. We had a wonderful experience and will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We love having people stay with us when they are celebrating a special event in the lives - like an anniversary. Glad to hear that they enjoyed the Hunt Country Eggs and the Blueberry Strata we served them while they were here. I remember they got a kick out of having homemade ice cream for dessert one morning - something that everyone should have once in their lifetime as there isn't a better way to start the day than with ice cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
390
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dan and Kathryn know when you need assistance and when you want to go it without their help. The rooms are elegant, yet modern and spotless. The breakfasts were wonderfuly unique and delicious. Great central location for visiting wineries, downtown Chartottesville, any of the "must see sights" in the area. I don't know how you could find a better B&B in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at this Inn and we weren't disappointed. Dan and Kathryn are very attentive hosts, the Inn is spotless from top to bottom, and the food was superb! We even had ice cream for breakfast one morning! The Inn is conveniently located to the Presidents' homes, the wineries in the area and the downtown area. We weren't disappointed and would recommend it to any one!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the large jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The first impression of this peaceful Inn that stands out for us is the cleanliness and all the little amenities that our wonderful hosts, Kathryn and Dan, provided during our stay. Our room, the Rose Room, had a gas fireplace with remote, bay window with view of the wooded lot or blackout shades if you wanted to sleep in. A huge bathroom!!! A lovely,soaking tub with fragrant bath beads if you like and a separate shower and oh, there are fluffy bathrobes and slippers for you too. Common rooms offered many varieties of books, tables to sit inside or out on the patio, only 1 TV in Inn but that is fine with us. The snack area was impressive with such variety of items to satisfy most everyone but the best item for us was Kathryn's homemade cookies!! Yummy!! Kathryn serves a three course breakfast everyday. She is an artist in her presentation as well as a fabulous cook. The breakfasts were delicious!! If you had any food allergies or special requests, she is happy to accommodate. Our stay was very pleasant, comfortable and too short......we definitely will be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for our 2 year anniversary and chose Foxfield primarily because of its centralized location to the local wineries, breweries, and downtown C-ville shops. We were rewarded with a beautiful room, gourmet breakfast, and personable/knowledgeable/accommodating inn keepers. If your looking for a refined, yet cozy place to retreat, stay at this gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were recently guests at the Foxfield Inn for two nights. We stayed in the Dogwood room, which was not particularly fancy but spacious, very clean, and had great views of the lovely backyard. The property is nicely landscaped and features many mature trees and opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. The community areas of the inn were nicely appointed and immaculate. The snack area offers cookies, tea/coffee, water, and a mini fridge for guests, if needed. Snacks and wine were also available late in the day. The highlight of our stay were the 3-course breakfasts, which were excellent. Kathryn is mindful of those with food allergies and provided snacks and prepared breakfast to meet these requirements, which was greatly appreciated and delicious! (Some of the best gluten free muffins I've ever had!). Dan and Kathryn were both very friendly and offered helpful suggestions for things to do in the area. Overall, we would recommend this inn- it is nicely located just outside of downtown in a more country setting- a peaceful refuge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HealthNut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

After much research I chose Foxfield Inn for a one night stopover to visit friends who live in the area.
The Inn was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We stayed in the Audubon room which was tastefully decorated. The bathroom was very large with a wonderful jetted tub and separate shower. Lights were on dimmers which made for a very relaxing soak. Breakfast was an elegant affair.

The only minor issues were that they had no television in the room ( I was aware of this when I booked) so it was not a deal breaker for us. ......And while I loved the bed linens, my husband did not care for the texture.

I would recommend the Foxfield Inn as a romantic getaway in a beautiful area of Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing