We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
692
31
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
692
31
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomhot tubdan kathrynaudubon roomgracious hostsbed and breakfastother guestscookiesglass of winegourmet breakfastcharlottesville areab bsgas fireplacebottled waterlittle toucheslocal wineriesrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 728 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Foxfield Inn is located 10 minutes outside the city in the beautiful Virginia country side. The Inn and garden areas are exceptionally well maintained. The traditional interior decor, both living areas and bedrooms, are inviting, comfortable and spacious. The single-level house design is fabulous. The 5 bedroom and living areas are separated by a wide center hall way that can be closed-off by colonial glass pane bi-swing doors to provide guests their evening privacy.

The Inn keepers, Dan and Kathryn, make every effort to make you feel like their own invited guests. Upon arrival we were offered very nice wines of our choice, likely produced from the local vineyards. The varied menu breakfasts were delicious and very well presented.

Access to downtown and the university...easy. Fine dining is 15 minutes away at Duners where the menu is diverse and the food is delicious and not over priced. Don't miss visiting the King Family Vineyard for Sunday polo and wine, of course. James King, following deployment commands in Iraq and Afghanistan as a United States Marine officer, now manages Events and Activities there where he will greet you in the Tasting Room. The wines are quite nice. Thank you for your service, James.

We are looking forward to another visit this fall when the leaves are at full color. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: All are great but the ones with the back garden view are special.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our recent stay at Foxfield B&B was terrific. The property is very nice with multiple outdoor sitting areas, which I found really appealing. The bathroom was lavish and had nice touches such as bath salts. The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was terrific and the owners were very nice and helpful. We were there for our 30th anniversay and thorougly enjoyed the B&B and its location to Charlottesville and the wineries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room which was somewhat noisy around the checkin time of 4-6 pm time because the room was near the front entrance but that was it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashDCBlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Foxfield Inn while celebrating our two year anniversary. The hosts Dan and Kathryn are great and make you feel right at home upon arrival. I had several questions prior to the stay and had emailed Kathryn and she was very prompt at getting back with me. The breakfast was amazing and tea and coffee was provided for early risers before breakfast was served. We stayed in the Rose room and it was perfect in every way. The Jacuzzi tub was very large and overall everything was very nice and clean in the rooms. The outside is great for afternoon walks, or just to sit and relax. They had great recommendations on the local attratctions in the area. We ate at a local recommendation, Duners and it was fantastic!! Overall a great trip and I look forward to staying here when returning to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShopinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a charming location from which to do touring of the Charlottesville area and all its historic attractions. Although not a historic inn, it is beautifully and comfortably appointed. The hosts are cordial and helpful and the breakfasts unbeatable. A little pricier than some, but worth it.

Room Tip: Couldn't go wrong with any, but we enjoyed our room on the end next to the backyard porch because of its easy access to the grounds. Loved the bird feeder right out our window.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Foxfield for our honeymoon weekend & it was perfect in every way. Our hosts Dan and Kathryn were excellent -- hospitable, knowledgeable, professional and detail-oriented. We had ordered champagne & a cheese plate for our room upon arrival and were very pleased with their choice and presentation. In the evenings, they provide a wine & cheese hour which allows guests to socialize (as well as homemade cookies to take to your room). Kathryn's breakfasts are wonderful -- creative and delicious! We also loved our room ... very quiet with a huge luxurious tub, bathrobes, turndown service and other touches that made us feel very well taken care of. We are already looking forward to returning to Foxfield for anniversary weekends! Definitely recommend the inn for high-level service, professionalism combined with a warm, welcoming friendliness, and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Location is great in the beautiful countryside ... marked as 4 instead of 5 simply because it does require driving back & forth to town for dinner. But it's a lovely and scenic drive.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEB200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews