We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Awesome Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Charlottesville the weekend of April 20-22, 2012... fiancée by the end of the trip! We arrived Friday afternoon and planned a Charlottesville wine tour on Saturday and visited Monticello on Sunday.

The inn was beautiful, cozy, and very clean. We stayed in the Garden Room which had a nice jacuzzi tub. The jacuzzi tub, the fireplace, and then tranquil surroundings helped make for a very relaxing weekend. The inn keepers, Dan and Kathryn were very nice and helpful. Not to forget...Kathryn was also a great chef. She made a delicious breakfast each morning. There were four couples each morning (counting us) that gathered around the dinning room table. Everyone was very friendly which made for some interesting breakfast conversations.

Several weeks before our arrival I called and asked Kathryn for recommendations for a transportation/limo service for the wine tour and also for a nice restaurant for Saturday night. Both recommendations received were excellent! They provided a local map to help us get around the area...to either find your way to the UVA campus or find any of the numerous wineries around the area, etc. Very helpful.

Some nice touches...a robe and slippers were available for each guest in the bedroom closet. The open pantry available for free to guests (a nook in the hallway outside the bedrooms) included fresh homemade cookies, candy, soda, water, and coffee. There was a nice gazebo, beautiful gardens, chairs, and a hot tub outside.

If you are looking for a B&B in Charlottesville, VA...we highly recommend the Foxfield Inn.

Thanks,
Dave and Heather

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
395
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I came to Charlottesville to celebrate our 1 year anniversary with a hot air balloon ride. The hot air balloon company recommended Foxfield Inn and what a fabulous recommendation it was! Dan and Kathryn (Inn keepers) are just lovely - they truly were the perfect hosts. They made us feel right at home and Kathryn is an amazing cook! I have never had such a creative AND tasteful breakfast before! The Inn itself is very well kept and has everything you need. The landscaping is beautiful outback with a jacuzzi and a nice private little gazebo. And the rooms are spacious and elegant. Our room had a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub which were both used and thouroughly enjoyed:) The location of the B&B is nice - it is just close enough to downtown Charlottesville and the UVA area, but far enough away that you get the sense of a serene getaway. It is also easy to get to many of the local vineyards and Monticello. If you are thinking of visiting Charlottesville, I absolutely recommend Foxfield Inn!! (Side note - I work in the hotel industry, so I am VERY picky about my accomodations while traveling and the Foxfield Inn definitely met and exceeded my usual standards!)

Room Tip: The Audubon Room is amazing!! Spacious, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, bay window w/ bird feeder just outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This review is long past due. My husband and I came to Charlottesville to visit Monticello for a weekend. We stayed at the Foxfield Inn. Oh my, what a wonderful stay we had! The Inn was truly lovely and very, very clean. We had a wonderfully cozy room with a jacuzzi tub and gas fire place. The breakfasts were over the top! We really enjoyed visiting with our hosts Dan and Kathryn...They are warm and welcoming and have a wealth of knowledge about the Charlottesville area. I could go on and on about the Foxfield Inn. If you are ever in the Charlottesville area, this is the place to stay. Thank you soooo much Dan and Kathryn!!!.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived for a weekend getaway to celebrate our 30 year anniversary. The Foxfield Inn was beautiful. Dan & Kathryn are warm, welcoming hosts. The breakfast and homemade cookies were delicious! The room was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was relaxing. We loved the fact that the B&B is so close to the many wonderful wineries, and downtown Charlottesville. If your looking for a wonderful, serene getaway,the Foxfield B&B is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Foxfield to celebrate a birthday and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts were outstanding. Our hosts were very friendly and even arranged for a cake for my wife. The jacuzzi in the beautiful backyard was a plus. Even my 90-yr old mother-in-law took a dip for the first time in her life!!
Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The grounds at the inn are just beautiful. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stank0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We only stayed one night in this lovely inn but were impressed. It's a bit out of town ( Charlottesville) but located in the rolling hills of horse country. A pretty drive to the inn.
Foxfield is sparkling clean and provides everything a guest needs. The breakfast was very good and the hosts welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room and highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainehatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast in a quiet setting outside of Charlottesville. We stayed here to hike in Shenandoah National Park. It was about 45 mins from the park but was a quiet place to rest after a long day of hiking. Dan and Kathryn are excellent hosts.They met us at the door and offered a glass of wine while we settled into our room. Kathryn is an excellent cook. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. The grounds are gorgeous, with gardens, bird feeders, a gazebo, and flowers. I would highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room would be the best for total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing