We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed at the Clifton Inn for several days in November 2010 as part of a larger trip to the United States. Unfortunately, I was sick for the entire trip with a very bad flu but the staff at the Clifton Inn were exceptional and I'm sure my time there contributed to my recovery.

I stayed in the Thomas Mann Randolph room which was large, decorated beautifully, and had a gorgeous view over the front lawn and surrounding mountains. When I arrived on the first evening, the bed had already been turned down, soft waltz music was playing on the CD player in the room, and it felt like I had walked into a sanctuary after a harrowing few days of sickness and hospitalization in Washington D.C. Everything was clean, comfortable, and cozy. That particular room also has a bathroom accessed via a small private staircase which contains a beautiful antique claw foot bath (in addition to the large shower). A lovely touch!

The chef was kind enough to make me special meals of chicken soup (delicious) and the rest of the staff went the extra mile to make my stay there feel like home away from home. Of all the hotels I stayed in while I was in the United States (including other luxury hotels) the Clifton Inn was, without question, the highlight of the trip. I only wish I had been well enough to see more of the local area. If I was ever in the area again, I would definitely make a return visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    57
    31
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stay at a lot of B&B's and this one is tops! Like other Relais and Chateaux properties the staff here thinks of everything! From the touches in the room - personal hand written welcome greetings in your room on arrival, home made cookies when you leave in a box, and home made mints on the pillow, fruit in the rooms, Bose sound system with great CD's, bottled water by the bed, the treats and great service never seems to stop!!!! When we were up in the room drinking champagne I called down for some fruit. 2 minutes later we had strawberries, rasberries, sliced bananas, sliced apples and blackberrries. All of this is in the room price. Service is tops, hats off to the staff! Property is cozy and elegant. Lines are nice. I cannot think of one problem we had during our stay. Dinner was very good as well - kitchen staff is amazing!!! Thanks You!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I booked one night in December for my business trip to Charlottesville. It sounded perfect and the reviews were wonderful. I arrived and had help carrying my bags to my room. Adorable, cozy, and well-appointed. Dropped off my things and went down to the restaurant for a solo dinner...divine. So excited! But then, on the stairs up to my room, I saw a big bug. Didn't think anything of it. But then noticed several of these bugs in my room. I told the person working downstairs about the problem and she offered to move me. We walked to the building closest to the main house, turn on the lights, and notice 3 big bugs! Long story short, there is a stink bug infestation that has been very problematic. They tried spraying my original room but more bugs kept appearing. There weren't any other rooms available except a tiny one next door to the bug-infested room. So, for the first time EVER in my 5+ years of heavy business travel, I LEFT! I seriously could not deal with so many bugs, and the staff were not super helpful. It's such a charming place but I sadly will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyCityLady825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We take all feedback very seriously. Stink bugs were an issue here. The Main House dates back to 1799 and is set in 100 acres. So once in a while, we have had issues with local wild life (which have included a deer in the wine cellar, and a skunk in a car trunk).
I think we have succesfully tackled the stink bug issue here, and we are truly sorry that Windy City Lady did not enjoy her stay, but glad that she did enjoy the dinner.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This little hotel is a hidden gem! So very quiet and upscale. The pool is so exquisite, with it's vanishing edge overlooking the lawn. The coping stone and quartz finish inside the pool is stunning. The private cabanas are shaded with ivy and an opaque outdoor curtain should you want total privacy. There's a little button one can push to order refreshments poolside. The lavender lemonade is delicious! After all that relaxation, enjoy the restaurant with it's amazing tasting menu, you will be blown away. Every bite is something to cherish. Also attended a wine dinner here, where the winemaker presented his wines to a group of maybe 25 or so. It was intimate and fun with amazing food and wine pairings! Can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbshellbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Clifton Inn in November. We found the service and attention to detail to be wonderful. The dinner we had was delicious and the service (particularly our waiter Derek) made the evening so special. Even though there was a wedding going on when we were there, we were made to feel welcome and well attended to. The breakfast the following morning was wonderful. We stayed in the main building - noise was not an issue. The room decor was not to my taste, but still lovely if you enjoy antiques. The bed was so comfortable and the linens so luxurious. We missed the tea service unfortunately and when we mentioned the wine tasting (which had been canceled due to the wedding), we were provided with a complimentary glass of wine with dinner (a very nice touch). Eric greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful. I noticed a dirty towel and asked that it be replaced - it was done quickly. I highly recommend the Clifton Inn in all respects !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I have ever stayed in in the US, and I've traveled a lot. The grounds are beautiful, and the H.neymoon Cottage is charming beyond belief. Wonderful staff, full restaurant and bar. Very handy to sightseeing, particularly if you're a history buff. The only complaint was having to leave!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidg7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

LOVED our evening at Clifton Inn. Terrific ambience and wonderful dinner. (The "Sticky Toffee Pudding" was phenonmenally good!) great staff, charming in every respect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBlueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,696 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
454 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing