We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Pleasure”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Clifton Inn for the first time mostly because it provided a convenient one-night stopover on a trip to Charleston, SC. We had read the reviews, and expected good food and nicely-decorated rooms, but were mostly just looking for a respite from the Interstate chain hotel experience. Now, however, we realize that the Clifton should BE the destination!
Upon arrival (in torrential rain), we were greeted by a charming young woman who not only informed us that we'd been given a complimentary upgrade to the Carriage House Suite, but carried most of our luggage there herself. The suite proved to be a two-level showplace featuring a downstairs living room (with grand piano!) and upstairs loft bedroom with couches and king bed. The bathroom was equally spectacular - the double shower in particular was spa-worthy. All this grandeur for the cost of the cheapest room in the place? Too good to be true. At this rate it didn't matter what the dinner was like - we were way ahead of the game.
Dinner, however, proved to be even more memorable than the room. The menu provides a choice of 3, 4, or 5 courses, including a spectacular selection of local and international cheeses. As one course followed another, I waited for something, anything, to be only ordinary. Honestly, this food was on a par with New York's finest. We retired to our private carriage house wishing that we didn't have to leave the next morning. (Only after the complimentary full breakfast, of course).
Funny how things work out. For a variety of reasons, we decided to cut our visit to SC short and head for home early, retracing our steps rather than heading through Washington. My first call was to the Clifton, whereupon we were offered yet another deal too good to pass up; a suite (with a view of Monticello, no less) including dinner and
breakfast, for approximately half the usual night's rate alone. Needless to say, we took it. And our second experience was every bit as wonderful as the first, with the added bonus of being greeted like old friends. And the sun was shining.
Maybe we were just lucky. In fact, I know we were lucky. But this inn is worth a special trip, and we intend to find our way back often.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Outstanding small hotel with warm, efficient staff, make this property one not to be missed when in beautiful Charlottesville. Historic area surrounds the Inn, but one has no desire to leave the Inn and its gardens, restaurant, and afternoon tea. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The Clifton Inn was nice but I expected more for the money. We had a suite-- but we could hear the dining room (including the early set-up for breakfast and the late, late clean up after dinner). The staff was very nice but we both expected a little more with the rates they charge. And, dinner was definitely not worth the $200+ tab. We would probably stay there again but would not make reservations for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We were walk-in guests, and we were lucky to get the accomidations. Normally they are booked, but the snow in New England grounded some travelers and prevented a full house. The staff is unbelivable, the restaurant five star, and the room was everything you could want. We are rather fussy travelers and we dont write these sorts of reviews lightly, if you are in the area, try to book a room and in any case, go to the restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights with my husband as part of our honeymoon at the Clifton Inn. The house is lovely, and is set in nice grounds. The first night we were in the James Monroe room which is not a big room but is pretty, with a lovely bathroom. The views from the window are somewhat obscured by the roof of the restaurant outside. We did have a problem with the noise from the kitchen - it is fairly constant and starts early so if you are a light sleeper it may not be the best room. We were given an upgrade for the second night to the Blue Ridge suite which was great - lovely and spacious. The only negative I can think of for that room is that there are some fans outside but the noise is not too bad from them. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant, seated outside and thought the food was excellent. Breakfast was great, and the choice was really good. They also left lovely chocolates in the room and we got some cookies when we left. We got some laundry done while there and it wasn't as expensive as we thought it would be. We really enjoyed ourselves, and thought it was the best accommodation of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillicentD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a much needed retreat in the lovely Charlottesville, VA for the long
Valentine's Day weekend. Our private accommodations in the Honeymoon Cottage were
charming and comfortable. The breakfast menus offered several choices and extended hours which offered us a chance to not rush in the morning. We took advantage of dining in the Clifton restaurant on Valentine's Day for dinner. Great decision...it couldn't have been more special. Wonderful, unobtrusive service and the food was soooooooo good. Although
it is slightly out of the business area of Charlottesville; it is easy to get to the Downtown mall
and other area restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed several of the many wineries and did a little stocking up on several favorite wines. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait for a return visit to see beautiful grounds in bloom and with out all the snow!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank KDSNBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Stayed recently for one night (alas!) at the Clifton Inn. We were upgraded to a suite and it was absolutely wonderful. I was particularly impressed by the service - even got a call in advance of our stay to tell me that the hotel was doing a special Haitian Relief fund benefit in case we wanted to change dinner plans. We didn't and the meal was wonderful and it felt all the better that it was for a good cause. The room was exactly what you'd hope - cozy, romantic but with all the amenities that one would hope to make a perfect stay. The only regret was having to leave ... perfect ...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
473 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
537 reviews
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,811 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $230 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing