We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a beautiful location”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Palmyra, Virginia
1 review
“Relaxing stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We recently celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Clifton and the staff could not have been nicer. We were welcomed to our beautiful room with fresh fruit and a card, had afternoon tea with fresh baked scones, then took a stroll down to the private lake. Enjoyed an excellent dinner with the best fresh roasted asparagus I have ever eaten while watching the sunset over the mountains from the terrace. It was so nice to relax in our cozy historical room while enjoying the comforts of cable TV, a fluffy duvet, and a large shower with great water pressure. Finished our trip with delicious cinnamon rolls at the continental breakfast. All this and only about 10 minutes from Charlottesville!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Absolutely delighted that Pam that Pam appreciated the cozy room, great staff, the grounds with the private lake, the wonderful views and the best dinner she has ever had amongst other things.

Unfortunately, we cannot take credit for the sunset, but we can certainly pretend tat we organized this.

We hope that Pam will return in the near future.

Niall Reid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    57
    31
    22
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Clifton Inn as part of our 1st anniversary trip. We like to try Relais & Chateaux restaurants and hotels. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Cottage. It was very quaint. The bed was SO comfortable! The inn and the grounds are absolutely lovely. The lawn/back patio is the perfect area to have a glass of wine. We enjoyed being able to walk to dinner without having to drive back into town. We will undoubtedly stay at Clifton Inn again on our next trip to Charlottesville (and there will be another trip to Charlottesville hopefully soon)!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Cottage is quaint. I like that it was a separate building. It was comfortable, and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaegUT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are very happy to hear that MaegUT07 enjoyed some of the lovely features of Clifton Inn such as the gorgeous grounds and the charming rooms, enjoying the fact that there is everything to do here such as a swimming pool, walks and history all in one setting without having to drive.

We look forward to welcoming her back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley VA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful setting and small facility but lacked the luxuriousness I associate with Relais & Chateaux properties like the Inn at Little Washington. Cumbersome size suite, no TV in the bedroom, a waiter who never check water-level during the meal. I was hoping for an over the top experience and did not have one. Fine dinner menu - kudos to the chef.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dashmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for commenting so positively on our fine dinner menu, our wonderful setting and the intimacy of our facility. We agree that the Chef provides a wonderful dinner and the views from the deck are beautiful

One of the joys of Relais Chateau properties is their variety and diversity. We agree that we are different from The Inn at Little Washington and we celebrate this. We feel that Clifton has its own unique understated charm. We have consciously placed all of our televisions in the living room of our suites.

Once again thank you for your review. It may sound like a world weary cliche, but here we do genuinely listen to our guest feedback and this will certainly be shared with the team at Clifton Inn. 

We do hope that you will make plans to return again soon.

Niall Reid
General Manager
Clifton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had an excellent time at the Clifton Inn. We went for two nights and were unexpectedly upgraded into the luxurious Monticello suite. The first night we enjoyed a delicious 4-course meal, including a great scallops, and a very good duck confit. We were constantly overwhelmed by the friendly and professional service. At dinner, my wife ordered a drink, which she thought was too sweet, and without her even saying anything, the waitress noticed and asked the bartender to make her another one. The manager and staff were very knowledgeable about nearby wineries and restaurants to visit. This was one of the best places we have stayed in, not only in the Charlottesville area, but in greater DC. We have recommended it to our friends and will hope to go back soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon Sweet at the Clifton for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay: the room and grounds were beautiful and the food at the inn was excellent.

The standout here was definitely the service, which was top notch. We felt so welcome as guests of the inn and the restaurant.

Everything we've come to expect from Relais and Chateaux.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I did a lot of research before choosing this inn for a weekend getaway with my son. This Inn is part of a boutique resort group, and you could definitely feel that "boutique" ambience upon walking in the door. The inn itself is truly beautiful, with lovely furniture, interior design, historical elements and pleasurable additions including hand-written welcome notes, a croquet yard and a tea room. I can definitely see hosting a wedding here. I was surprised however, when I arrived, that the room I had booked was not available any more. I had had a specific conversation with the front desk when I made the reservation and he agreed that the room I chose was a special one. I think the people who had been staying there might have extended their visit. I wouldn't have minded the unexpected switch if an incentive or at least apologetic explanation was given. Instead, we got a different room without much discussion, and that room was not quite as desirable. The room had a quaint sitting room and antique furniture (including a piano), which was neat, but that abrupt change in the beginning set a different tone for our stay.

The inn was very quiet, and since my son is also quiet, it wasn't a problem, but the inn isn't exactly child-friendly, with small stairways and thin walls (obviously since it's a historic home!) The pool area was still closed for the season but looked like it would be gorgeous in the summer. The breakfast was very light (pastry and coffee) unless we wanted to pay for the very expensive a la carte menu, and there was an interesting modern bar in the home as well. The inn is not exactly easy to find, and I missed the turn the first time. It is relatively near area attractions. I liked the inn overall with its historic charm and small, thoughtful gestures, but with all the competition in the area accommodations, I think I would choose a different place to stay upon returning to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful old house and incredible service. This historic inn was once part of Thomas Jefferson's estate and it is very close to Monticello and University of Virginia. Great restaurant and the overall service was the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,715 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
912 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
523 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing