We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton
Nearby Hotels
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$140
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$117
$107
SleepInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$240
$169
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
$194
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$134
Homewood
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
227
58
32
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
58
32
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecarriage househoneymoon cottageinfinity poolbeautiful groundscontinental breakfastlovely roomthe entire staffa wonderful stayglass of wineyogurtweddingsuitepropertykeswickvirginiagm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 360 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We went to the Clifton to have our wedding and stay for a few nights to kick off our honeymoon. I felt really compelled to write a review because my husband seems to think most people only write a review when they want to complain.

Overall, we had a great experience. The staff was friendly and were always ready to help when they could. The property is gorgeous as well.

However, there were several things that surprised me, especially given the price of the room. Lights that did not work, the jacuzzi was broken, and the path to the room was not well lit.

So, for the price I was disappointed, but I think it's a great place with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrandMrsDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

The most lovely stay I have ever experienced. The staff exhibited the highest level of subtle, professional service. They were attentive to everything, without being intrusive. The grounds themselves were lovely - the perfect genteel surroundings.

I had a room in the Carriage House - the Merriwether Suite - and I highly recommend it. It is a tribute to say that I came back early from a day trip so that I could have afternoon tea.

Highly recommend - my stay there was better than what I have experienced at the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia, both because of the surroundings and because of the friendly, professional staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MdmWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed at the Inn for one night in late December. The Inn was quiet and located in a lovely part of Virginia with horse farms and wineries. We booked a low cost suite in an out-building and when we return will try a different room in the main house or another building. The room was nicely furnished but reminded us of former slave quarters. The heater did not work and despite being set to above 70 degrees stayed at 54 degrees. The bathroom was "interesting". Very little space for items (make-up, curling iron, shaver) on a pedestal sink and only a single person can fit in the area at a time. The shower has a narrow opening so a sidewise entry is advised if you carry some weight. The shower was old and had layers of black mold inside. It was unappetizing for a Chateau and Relais. I'm assuming these rooms were not part of the qualification for the rating. The room is stocked with amenities(sherry & port), a fireplace (unlit), and a very nice bed.

The welcome was genuine and the service was outstanding. They do allow children so be prepared for some noise. Our dinner was excellent. The menu allows you to construct a 3-5 course tasting menu in any order. The wine list is decent. Breakfast was also well-prepared and begins with homemade rolls and coffee cake. Service is attentive.

We'd return and try a different room. The Inn is located near all the president's homes and close to Charlottesville for shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PatWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The Clifton is a worthy member of the Relais and Chateaux network. The main house is a gracious, columned country house that has been furnished with fine post-modern furniture and done with a European flair. One is made to feel welcome upon arrival and throughout the stay. The staff seem to be well trained in the kind of service I associate with European country houses- seemingly effortless, graciousness. There were lots of "nice touches" that serve to distinguish good from excellent.

Our room was one of the four less expensive "white suites" in an out building. It wasn't terribly large or luxurious in the classic sense, but rather stylish and chic in a post-modern sense with all the amenities you could ask for. Be aware that if you choose one of these suites you will share the deck with the three others. In retrospect we wish we had chosen the honeymoon cottage because it is a single unit off by itself. That said, we have no complaints about the Keswick suite in which we stayed.

The restaurant's food and service were superb. The cuisine is international contemporary fare that compares very favorably with fine restaurants in any sophisticated city. It is special occasion dining. The service is professional, relaxed and readily available.

The Clifton made our trip to Monticello and Montpelier more special. We recommend it highly. The premium over other Charlottesville options was well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

wonderful inn and excellent restaurant but the outdoor grounds were not kept up - dead plants and shrubs all over and not once did we see any work being done. we stayed in the carriage house which looked cute from a distance but upon entering there we cigarette butts on the patio and inside the drapes had missing pins and were really sloppy. There were three lamps which weren't working and we just thought they should really have management oversee the rooms once in a while to make sure they measure up to the high price tag they charge ($395. per night weekdays). Overall, the staff was very nice and the location was great but they definitely need some major improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NewYorkMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews