We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We were exploring several wineries and wanted to stay someplace with history. This was an excellent choice. We had dinner in the Restuarant. It was a bit pricey but the food was excellent. We especially enjoyed the trout course and the desserts.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHPetsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just completed our fourth outing to the Clifton Inn - the first being the night after our marriage. There are very few places where you can get the ambience, the quiet natural pleasures of the hills outside Charlottesville, beautiful, spacious accommodations and the best darned meal you will find anywhere short of the Inn at Little Washington- and it is pretty comparable (but less expensive). A short walk brings you to a beautiful little stream on one side and the Ravenna River on the other side. The grounds are beautiful. It is a great place to take someone you love or to go to get away and it could even be a good venue for a small business meeting. The Inn is extremely comfortable, but the food is exquisite. They have "small dishes" so you can try lots of different foods and, unless you get the full 12 courses with matching wines, you won't feel stuffed. But, if you have the time, we heartily recommend the full 12 courses. I first found the Clifton Inn over twenty years ago on a business training session - I fell in love with it then and have never been even a small bit disappointed. It is a class establishment.

Room Tip: If you want something really special, the Carriage House if available. Otherwise, any of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Clifton is a divine, aesthetically pleasing, & relaxing property. Our food, above all else, was simply marvelous. I reprimanded myself for not ordering the mixed green salad with house-made ricotta (I tasted my friend's & lamented). However, I recovered & forgot about all regret upon receipt of my brussel sprouts. The salsify with caviar was fantastic, as was the tea-steamed tuna, which melted in my mouth. And then there were the sweetbreads...oh, dear God...they were as tender as the sparse winter grasses upon which the cow feasted shortly before slaughter... (Pardon me for having waxed poetic, but good food will inspire my Muse.) My sticky-toffee pudding was delectable & [somewhat regrettably] passed around the table for my dining companions' mutual enjoyment. Try the Clifton Inn for yourself. I sincerely doubt you'll be anything short of amazingly pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lulielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just had the immense pleasure of another Chef's Table Experience at the Clifton Inn! Watch the action in the kitchen up-close and personal, while you enjoy a spectacular meal with friends!
Clifton Inn has been our "special place" for years, and the most recent visit was another highlight in a long list of perfect evenings. The staff treat you like family, the ambience is sophisticated, warm and welcoming. The food is spectacular, fun, inventive, and the tasting menu always offers something new and exciting. They also regularly change their list of cocktail specials. The "Founding Fathers Flight" and the "Wisemen" were our favorites on this past visit. The wine selection includes true gems from local sources as well as all over the world. Check out the Barboursville Vineyards "Octagon" for a real treat! Honestly, I would give it more stars, if I could!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sciencechick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The inn is in a great location, 10 min drive to downtown, on a beautiful quiet and relaxing property. They have a great tea service every afternoon, and all the staff is outstanding. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited the Inn for dinner on December 30, 2012. A review of the menu showed many interesting selections. So many, that we opted for the Chef's Tasting for both of us. Our first selection was a wooden board with five or six different types of relish appetizers. Each one was pickled or heavily salted. Thankfully, the good bread helped calm our stomachs. The second course came...more picked appetizers...by the third course (you guessed it) pickled vegetables and oysters. I have never experienced pickled apples...We could no longer stomach the food. I requested a beef meal for both of us and that they cancel the balance of the Chef's Tasting. The ONLY beef on the menu was a Rib Eye (no Filet Mignon!). These were delivered in a timely manner...very bland..At least not pickled but heavy on ginger. Management was very attentive, even offering to comp our dinner. I did not accept the comp, but did strongly suggest they visit a quality restaurant and sample someone else's Chef's Tasting. We talked to another couple who also had dinner that night. They said the only thing they tried was a salad and the rib eye and salmon. They said "Ok but not worth another visit". I would like Dan_0302 to comment on his thoughts about the Tasting Menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been to Clifton many times and loved it so much that my husband and I got married there in 2010. We stayed last night for a anniversary celebration and were shocked at the change. There has been a lapse in maintenance (hardwoods in bad shape, exterior needs painting, linens need to be replaced, stink bugs in the room!). The service at dinner was abysmal- waited 30 minutes to even place our order and there were long delays between courses. The food is average compared to before. One waitress was particularly rude- slammed plates down and seemed personally insulted when we had to move dessert to our room because dinner had taken too long. Clifton used to be a very special place and we are sad to see this decline!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balletbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

We have been in contact with Balletbee" regarding her review of Clifton. We are very happy that she got married here, because it was a really great day !
We agree with certain aspects of her review. For example, the hardwood floors in the Dining Room - we get that and agree. As we speak, we are actually closed for our annual maintenance, and we are re-doing the floors - which we re-do every year !
We look forward to "Balletbee" and her husband returning and I am sure they will then write a very positive review.

Kind regards,

Niall Reid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $175 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing