We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - Clifton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Clifton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

The most lovely stay I have ever experienced. The staff exhibited the highest level of subtle, professional service. They were attentive to everything, without being intrusive. The grounds themselves were lovely - the perfect genteel surroundings.

I had a room in the Carriage House - the Merriwether Suite - and I highly recommend it. It is a tribute to say that I came back early from a day trip so that I could have afternoon tea.

Highly recommend - my stay there was better than what I have experienced at the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia, both because of the surroundings and because of the friendly, professional staff.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdmWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    54
    28
    21
    16
See reviews for
53
201
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed at the Inn for one night in late December. The Inn was quiet and located in a lovely part of Virginia with horse farms and wineries. We booked a low cost suite in an out-building and when we return will try a different room in the main house or another building. The room was nicely furnished but reminded us of former slave quarters. The heater did not work and despite being set to above 70 degrees stayed at 54 degrees. The bathroom was "interesting". Very little space for items (make-up, curling iron, shaver) on a pedestal sink and only a single person can fit in the area at a time. The shower has a narrow opening so a sidewise entry is advised if you carry some weight. The shower was old and had layers of black mold inside. It was unappetizing for a Chateau and Relais. I'm assuming these rooms were not part of the qualification for the rating. The room is stocked with amenities(sherry & port), a fireplace (unlit), and a very nice bed.

The welcome was genuine and the service was outstanding. They do allow children so be prepared for some noise. Our dinner was excellent. The menu allows you to construct a 3-5 course tasting menu in any order. The wine list is decent. Breakfast was also well-prepared and begins with homemade rolls and coffee cake. Service is attentive.

We'd return and try a different room. The Inn is located near all the president's homes and close to Charlottesville for shopping.

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PatWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

The Clifton is a worthy member of the Relais and Chateaux network. The main house is a gracious, columned country house that has been furnished with fine post-modern furniture and done with a European flair. One is made to feel welcome upon arrival and throughout the stay. The staff seem to be well trained in the kind of service I associate with European country houses- seemingly effortless, graciousness. There were lots of "nice touches" that serve to distinguish good from excellent.

Our room was one of the four less expensive "white suites" in an out building. It wasn't terribly large or luxurious in the classic sense, but rather stylish and chic in a post-modern sense with all the amenities you could ask for. Be aware that if you choose one of these suites you will share the deck with the three others. In retrospect we wish we had chosen the honeymoon cottage because it is a single unit off by itself. That said, we have no complaints about the Keswick suite in which we stayed.

The restaurant's food and service were superb. The cuisine is international contemporary fare that compares very favorably with fine restaurants in any sophisticated city. It is special occasion dining. The service is professional, relaxed and readily available.

The Clifton made our trip to Monticello and Montpelier more special. We recommend it highly. The premium over other Charlottesville options was well worth it.

  • Liked — it was stylish.
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

wonderful inn and excellent restaurant but the outdoor grounds were not kept up - dead plants and shrubs all over and not once did we see any work being done. we stayed in the carriage house which looked cute from a distance but upon entering there we cigarette butts on the patio and inside the drapes had missing pins and were really sloppy. There were three lamps which weren't working and we just thought they should really have management oversee the rooms once in a while to make sure they measure up to the high price tag they charge ($395. per night weekdays). Overall, the staff was very nice and the location was great but they definitely need some major improvement.

  • Liked — large space
  • Disliked — sloppy and not cared for
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NewYorkMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

the Clifton Inn is simply the best inn or hotel in the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is a sublime experience. I am typically in Charlottesville to recruit investment bankers at the University of Virginia, and am demanding in terms of business services while staying at the Clifton. Every time I have stayed there, I have been thrilled with the property, room, and service.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SF_Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

The Clifton Inn is a wonderful spot. We stayed in the Rivanna Suite in the Main House. The views were breathtaking. One view was of the mountains and the other overlooked the beautiful garden. I'm glad the cottages were booked because the main house was lovely and the sunset views amazing. We were right above the kitchen and never heard a sound. The room was actually two rooms with a bathroom as big or bigger than the sitting room. The shower was a pleasant surprised - very powerful. The bed was a queen, but very comfortable. The food and wait staff was top notch. We ate outside on the deck so bring a sweater. The pool and hot tub are a short walk away but definately worth the trip - bring your swimsuit. My husband had to be at UVA at 8:30 a.m. and it was an short easy drive. If you're planning a trip to Charlottesville, you owe it to yourself to book the Clifton Inn.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank fun-on-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Our stay at the Clifton Inn was delightful. The staff was exceptional. They cater to your every wish. Our gourment dinner was outstanding, as were afternoon tea and breakfast. What we loved was the portion size - it was so perfect and such a pleasant change from the enormous portions at many restaurants. You could actually eat every course and not feel like you had to fast for several days . We will return.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — shower needed some work
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank creature-of-comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.8 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing