We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal”

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Nestled inside the Main Street Market at 416 West Main Street in Charlottesville, Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar offers a menu and wine list that fuses the culinary and viticultural traditions of Italy, Greece, Spain, and the South of France.Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar celebrates the exciting synergy of food and wine and the sparkling flavors of the Mediterranean. Our menu is complemented by an extensive wine list that covers the breadth of the Mediterranean, featuring an outstanding selection of wines by the glass as well as rare wines at exceptional values from our Wine Shop. We offer 5% off retail when you purchase three bottles, 10% off retail for six, and 20% off retail for a case.Orzo Offsite offers the exceptional cuisine and warm hospitality that you've come to enjoy at Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar. From simple to lavish, Orzo Offsite caters weddings, political fundraisers, corporate functions and intimate dinner parties (to name a few). We create beautiful, seamless and unforgettable events.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The new chef makes good and interesting food.

Really liked our last meal, with the wine and service.

Will become a regular

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    71
    23
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best chef in Charlottesville”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Orzo is a gem of a restaurant with abundant ambiance. It benefits from two very hands on owners who are extremely attentive to detail and are hard working. Tommy Lasley is a very talented Culinary Institute trained chef. I recently ordered the butternut squash ravioli. It was delicious and I didn't feel like I had consumed thousands of calories because it was so light and flavorful. The bruschetta is one of my favorite appetizers. You know you are in heaven when the appetizers are all so appealing that you have trouble deciding what to order. With a very fine wine list, Orzo has it all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and warm reception”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar several times when visiting Charlottesville. I have never had a bad experience yet. In fact, when my son and his fiancee were planning their wedding, my husband and I offered to host their rehearsal dinner, and what better place to have it than Orzo? The owners were so accommodating. Like every family, we had food issues -- gluten free, vegetarian, etc. They helped us devise the perfect menu for everyone's needs. Truly outstanding. I wish I lived closer to Charlottesville so that I could enjoy their food and ambiance more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sensational seasonal food & wine”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

So many wonderful choices of seasonal food offerings.....the calamari, the butternut squash soup were a good start, we tried various pasta dishes all great. The atmosphere was cozy and comfortable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank knittycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people. Vegan, vegetarian choices”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

3 of us ate here recently and we all enjoyed our food. We are all vegetarians and there were some good choices for us. What is very cool is that they had a menu card for vegans. 2 of us had the vegan risotto option which was excellent. The 3rd member of our party had a fall squash soup and then a salad plate. We were all satisfied.

It was busy and if you didn't have reservations you'd have issues. We got there early and sat at the bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing