We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Bistro”

Petit Pois Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped for dinner before a play without reservations and were lucky enough to get their last table for four. Next time we will call for reservations, especially if raining or cold as their inside space is small.

All four entrees were perfectly prepared and pleasing to the eye and pallet. My entrée was a risotto with lemon and aspargus, with a delicious salad for a starter. My husband and one of our friends ordered the crab cakes, also well received, little filler lots of crab.

We will definitely be returning and will call ahead for reservations. If the weather is comfortable, the outside dining area is perfect!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainorshine_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    57
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern va
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tres Bien”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

So much better than expected after looking at the menu and having to sit in a very small dining area because of the weather. The outside looked fantastic. Would love to have done dinner but on a overcast rainy Sunday, brunch was on my list to do.

The menu is limited and does not have the regular and is hard to tell what will be really, really good. I picked the french bread topped with spinach, 2 poached eggs, hollandaise (sp) sauce and grilled shrimp. I picked a winner. SOOOO good - bread crisp and big slice, topped with cooked fresh spinach, 2 perfectly cooked poached eggs, the sauce and 5 very tasty grilled seasoned shrimp. I added a glass of white wino and well, my brunch choice was extra very good.

Can't wait for my next trip - would love to do lunch or dinner. Thank you Petit Pois for brightening a somewhat dreary day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine55va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything we ordered on the menu was delicious and at reasonable rates, especially the appetizers and main courses. I was not enthused about their desserts, but that might change in the future. The owner cooked on the day we visited and that might have something to do with the tastiness of the food. I highly recommend the Chicken Braised in Red Wine.

A must, if you visit Charlottesville and are in the downtown mall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This tiny spot with spacious outdoor seating serves a limited but tasty and sophisticated French menu. Convenient location on Charlottesville's mall next to the local Paramount theater.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Low-key bistro style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food here is excellent but the place is TINY. Recommend getting a patio seat if the weather permits to give you a little more elbow room. Chicken liver mousse and steak frites were both great. A little pricy, but worth it if you're looking for high quality food without totally breaking the bank around the corner at La Fleurie (same owners).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cancemini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Pois Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Petit Pois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing