We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view”

Carter Mountain Orchard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located next to Monticello and Michie Tavern, Carter Mountain Orchard is family-owned and operated. Our mountaintop location affords spectacular views of Charlottesville, the Piedmont, and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Open April through November, we offer Pick-Your-Own and pre-picked Peaches and Nectarines (June-August) and Pick Your Own and pre-picked Apples (mid-August through November). Our bakery serves fresh-baked pies and cookies, hand-dipped ice cream, and our famous Apple Cider Donuts! Apple Cider, Apple Butter, jams and jellies, local crafts, pumpkins, and gourmet food products available in our country store. Wine tasting and sales on site, and the Mountain Grille serves lunch. Our school tours are popular-call for reservations. Scouts, Youth Groups, Seniors welcome. Family friendly. Please see our website for more details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Carter Mountain is a hotspot for people who want an easy way to be at the top of a mountain and overlook the city and hills. Fun for the family. Steep drive, but paved and easy. Get an apple cider donut!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    264
    81
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Breathe that mountain air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A beautiful overview of the area with vineyards and apple orchards. Employees are friendly, and so relaxing just taking in the view. Look forward to going each year...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank goRitago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OMG - The view and the fresh apple cider donuts!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We drove up the small but high mountain to the orchard. The view was amazing. They had pick-your-own apples or some they've picked already. There is a charming country/ general store on the property with knick knacks, fresh apple pie, the most amazing smelling apple cider donuts and local jams and jellies. This would be a place I'd frequent if we lived closer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deegeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun for datenight or with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Dog and stroller friendly, free parking and bags to buy your apples are free too. We arrived a little hungry and got something to eat & drink; so donuts, ice cream and cider (none are made on site) were fed to the three teenagers.
This is a family business and expect to pay a little extra, we got a gallon of cider our family's pumpkins, and picked a bag of Apple's. I also noticed the wine tasting room and cafe was open although we had a long drive ahead we didn't sample either of those.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We take the kids here every year and even several times a year. The orchards are well kept and the prices are reasonable.
The fresh apple cider and the apple cider donuts are a family favorite.

Helpful?
Thank Scobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carter Mountain Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Carter Mountain Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing