We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but packed full of people!”

Carter Mountain Orchard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located next to Monticello and Michie Tavern, Carter Mountain Orchard is family-owned and operated. Our mountaintop location affords spectacular views of Charlottesville, the Piedmont, and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Open April through November, we offer Pick-Your-Own and pre-picked Peaches and Nectarines (June-August) and Pick Your Own and pre-picked Apples (mid-August through November). Our bakery serves fresh-baked pies and cookies, hand-dipped ice cream, and our famous Apple Cider Donuts! Apple Cider, Apple Butter, jams and jellies, local crafts, pumpkins, and gourmet food products available in our country store. Wine tasting and sales on site, and the Mountain Grille serves lunch. Our school tours are popular-call for reservations. Scouts, Youth Groups, Seniors welcome. Family friendly. Please see our website for more details
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful but packed full of people!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We went to Carter Mountain Orchard on a Sunday afternoon in November. Boy were we not expecting the crowd that was there! There were hundreds of people milling about, looking at the scenery, and buying apples. The orchard has the most beautiful panoramic views, and is well worth the trip just for that alone. They have many different kinds of apples to choose from as well as cider, cider donuts, apple butter, etc. We didn't end up spending as much time there as we would have liked just because of the ridiculous crowd of people.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nymph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    279
    84
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We loved going up to Carter Mtn. to pick apples today. The view is beautiful, the people are friendly and the apples (Pink Lady) are amazing!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lalalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chesterfield, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“apples”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

apples, wine, family fun, picking, all great!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“fantastic weekend fun!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

apple ciders, apple donuts, pick-your-own peach and apples! yum!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank fromcville c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Busy Attraction but Worth the Visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

If you plan a trip to Carter Mountain Orchard make sure you visit EARLY. Beautiful scenic view of surrounding mountains. Excellent selection and a wide variety in the fall of different types of abundant apples. I don't know what kind of pesticide they spray on the apples so make sure to wash them before consuming. Golden delicious are among my favorite. If you have small children plan to arrive early because the wagon's and apple picking poles disapear fast! The only part of my visit I did not like so much was avoiding doggie doo. For the life of me I don't understand why so many people bring their pets! It's not like Fido and Snookie can help pick apples! Carter Mountain Orchard is busy enough as it is without the likes of pet owners trying to use their canine wonders as a fashion statement! Otherwise, if you don't mind an occational snipping at your ankles or steppin in slippery messy stuff (and I don't mean mushy apples), then I would have to say you'll love this Orchard.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_r6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carter Mountain Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Carter Mountain Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing