We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, No Frills, but We Still Paid Too Much”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, No Frills, but We Still Paid Too Much”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The location of the Charlottesville Budget Inn can't be beat, in some respects -- it's literally around the corner from the University of Virginia. So if you're in town for university-related business or pleasure, the location is perfect.

However, the motel is also located right next to the train tracks, and when I say "right next to," I mean that the walls and the bed shook every time a train went by. The room's air conditioning/heating system has a pretty loud fan that blocks out a lot of street noise, and much of the train noise, but still...the room shook.

The room itself was clean, as was the bathroom, but there was nothing special about this place. The beds were okay, but there were no blankets on them -- just a fitted sheet, a top sheet, and a bedspread. No blankets anywhere in the room, and no extra pillows either. There were three of us -- two parents and a teenager -- and we were only given towels for two. The bathroom had little bars of hand soap but no bath soap and no little bottles of shampoo (which I always use, when I'm in a motel). There weren't even pictures on the walls! Nothing to add to our comfort -- it was really all about the basics. Which would have been fine, except we paid about $85 a night, and for that, I expect at least a blanket and enough towels for all of us.

I'd also expect a better breakfast for that price. A continental breakfast was included with the room, but it consisted of warm (not hot) coffee, pre-packaged muffins and Danish, and cold cereal. For people who can't eat gluten or sugar, there was nothing. We went out for breakfast instead.

When we checked in, the front desk clerk rather confrontationally said he only had us down as one person staying in the room. My husband and our 13-year-old son were standing there with me as the clerk said this, and I told him I had booked the room for the three of us. He didn't seem to believe me and insisted he had us in the computer as only one person. Luckily I had my Travelocity printout showing that the reservation was for two adults and one child, but I had to show it to him for him to believe me.

I don't think I would stay here again. Yes, it was convenient to the university, but for the price we paid, I could have paid a few dollars more and stayed across the street at the Cavalier Inn (where I have stayed before) and had a much nicer room, much better breakfast, and no train noise, and be treated more politely by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    36
    18
    18
See reviews for
53
44
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We were on a first floor room that was just recently updated. It still had a slight smell of new paint. Bathroom was sufficient. The TV was a new flat screen and the burea for the old TV was still in there and you could see the mark on the wall. Bed was comfortable and closet was ample.
The best part was the Italian restaurant (diner) across the street. A railroad ran close to the complex but did not bother us at all as it didn't blow its horn for any crossings in the area. 3 long coal trains passed while we were there.
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2010

If you're on a budget and just looking for a clean, affordable night's sleep, the Budget Inn will work for you. Rooms have nice sized flat screen TV's. Room's heating system worked great. The Inn offers a complimentary Continental Breakfast. Get your morning joe, a muffin, cereal and start your day. No complaints with this traveler.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveedVirgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

stayed here because of price listed on the internet to visit family at UVA the rooms were old and run down they were clean but the bathroom was so small there was not even a countertop to put your toothbrush on. breakfast consisted on cereal and danish with a total of 6 seats in the dining area. did not feel safe, seemed to be a little low end place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigolenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I use this hotel everytime I go to Charlottesville. You cannot beat its location. Close to downtown and UVA. You can tell its an older hotel but you can also see where it has been well kept. The rooms were adequate and clean. For those who mention price I invite them to check prices throughout Charlottesville and you will find they are right in line (or cheaper than the other hotels). Added plus free WiFi and local and long distance calls in the US! Restuarant across the street is wonderful and offered a 10% discount to hotel guest. Parking is at a premium at this hotel. Only one space per room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed at the Budget Inn on a Saturday night in March 2009. We had two non-smoking rooms; both were very clean and neat, the beds were comfortable and each had a nice new flat screen TV. There was free wireless that was easy to use. Although the building is old, it is being kept up and taken care of. There is a very simple continental breakfast, coffee, juice and muffins. This is a small no frills motel so bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. The location immediately adjacent to UVA is very convenient and was quiet even though there was a conference basketball game the night we were there. For basic accomodations at a good price this was a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We paid $50/night with a coupon and found this to be a great value for this location right next to UVA. Basic hotel for people on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alabama2Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Property: Excel Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Excel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing