We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Comfortable, in a Great Location”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Comfortable, in a Great Location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Near the corner of Emmett and University, this motel's location is its greatest attraction. Travelers who stay here are within walking distance of the UVA campus, the Corner, the downtown pedestrian mall, and the Barracks Road shopping center. The cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the staff seem very valuable, too. It is clearly a budget motel, probably best for those who like its location and want a simple, comfortable, inexpensive place to sleep. This was a return visit for us, and the layout of this room and bathroom (room 45), in comparison with where we stayed before, seemed unattractive and inconvenient. The room's only window faces the parking lot, so we left the curtains closed and had no natural light in the mornings. The bathroom is extremely narrow. A large person would be uncomfortable using the sink or walking to the shower. Still, overall, we like this motel, most of all for the location, staff, and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing away from the street and toward Carr's Hill Field are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    36
    18
    18
See reviews for
53
44
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

So, this was a last minute, just go for whatever's cheap, reservation. Got in very late, but the staff was friendly, patient, and courteous. The room was small, but very clean, neat, and the bed was comfortable. I looked out and saw a train going by and I thought, oh no, I won't get any sleep. But it was a low rumble and I didn't notice any more the rest of the night. The one downside for me was that I couldn't get the internet to work in my room, but it did work in the little business center they have. Overall, a delightful find, a real bargain for the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summer10TravellingMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I checked in to this hotel, found immediately that the bathroom sink did not drain and the drain cover in the center of the floor was loose. When I returned an hour later after asking that the problems be fixed, I discovered that the drain now worked--the floor drain cover was still disconnected--but that the entire wing of the hotel reeked of wretched sewage gas. The desk clerk came to the wing and confirmed that the smell was most evident.

I asked to have my fee cancelled since I was checking out immediately. They refused to cancel my credit card transaction, offering only to find a room in another section of the hotel.

I chose not to stay any longer and would strongly urge people to avoid this stink hole.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Virginiaalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Ugh....this room was the size of a walk in closet. It was dark and dingy and had a tv with about a 20 inch screen. I just about got to sleep after the soccer game on the lighted field ended behind the room when a freight train with about 100 cars came by (seemed like it was about 50 yards away), then I was awakened by a housekeeper who was singing outside my room early the next morning. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jratigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy. The rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable and the employees were friendly and helpful. The heat worked fine. The train is noticeable, but not too bad. We walked to the Afghan restaurant nearby and had a great dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JupFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The 3 of us stayed March 5, 2014. The room was ice cold when we arrived. Immediately turned heat/ac unit on high heat. Left to give room time to warm. Came back 3 hrs later, room still not warm. No heat at all in bathroom. Heat unit finally got room warm. Did get a portable heater to go in bathroom. Noise from trains off and on all night plus noise from neighboring rooms sounded like bodies being slammed against the walls. Mattresses were worn out. We were there because 1 of our party had to be at hospital the next morning. I did inform reception desk at check in that we were there for that reason. We got a whole $4.00 discount. Really???? This room was $64 for 1 night and it was, by far, the most miserable night any of us have ever had in a motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbugsgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is an older motel that has been well kept over the years and has a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. I recently stayed with them while my wife had major surgery at the UVA Medical Center and received a special discount. Be sure and mention if you're a "hospital family". The room was always clean and it was nice to have the min-fridge and microwave. Now, if you're expecting something that will compare with the other hotels that cost 3-4 times as much, you're going to be a little disappointed (as most do that are that close to campus but for the price, this little place is hard to beat. The manager said they are planning to remodel the bathrooms this year (they did lack places to set or hang things).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mettatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Property: Excel Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Excel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing