We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rooster Hill Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$219
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$112
$102
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
48
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggsthe blue ridge mountainsprepared breakfastwonderful staylarryprivacymonticellokitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 57 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our room at the Rooster Hill B&B was immaculately clean, and it was a very large, serviceable space offering a sitting area, a dining area, and a good-sized bathroom. We were delighted that there was no television; the innkeepers work hard at keeping their grounds beautifully maintained, and they provide many books and brochures/directions/pamphlets about the Charlottesville area.

They have a unique model for offering breakfast at this B&B; they offer (whole, raw, still-in-shell) eggs fresh from their hens, a pitcher of juice, a jar of homemade jam (ours was made of blueberries from the blueberry bushes on the property), some butter, and a freshly baked loaf of bread in the guest rooms (which are equipped with little two-burner cooktops and other cooking equipment, utensils, and plates/glassware). We enjoyed meeting the hens responsible for the eggs. :-)

Larry was very welcoming and hospitable, and it was clear that he wanted us to feel comfortable. It was a pleasure to stay at this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our family of three stayed in the lower larger room, and found it very comfortable. Our daughter particularly enjoyed collecting eggs from the hens, and watching the new chicks. Larry was a welcoming but not hovering host - made sure we had everything and then gave us our privacy. It is about a 20 min drive from Charlottesville or Monticello. We liked the country peace, and yet being close to tourist attractions. The room was highly air conditioned, as it is connected to a central system, and so we had to open windows to warm it up, as we don't usually have air conditioning on in the spring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdgNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Rooster Hill for a weekend when there were no rooms available in Charlottesville proper. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful atmosphere, the clean and well-appointed room, and the wonderful home-baked bread, jam, and fresh eggs for breakfast. The reason I am only giving it 4 stars is that we could hear people upstairs and next to us throughout the night which made it a bit difficult to sleep at times -- it's probably not quite as sound proof as it could be. Other than that, I would recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pkf320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast recently for a weekend getaway to Charlottesvile and we absolutely loved it! We were looking for a quiet place and this was perfect for what we wanted. It's secluded but not too far away from the city to where you can't enjoy the attractions of Charlottesville. Our hosts were absolutely fantastic. We had plenty of privacy but were still well taken care of. We really enjoyed all of the breakfast supplies that were left for us, especially the fresh bread. The jar of cookies was nice, too! The rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated, with a lot of attention to detail. There isn’t a TV or anything, but that only adds to the overall charm of the place. We enjoyed feeding the chickens after breakfast each morning, and I especially enjoyed the daily visit from their little outdoors cat. We definitely plan to stay here for our next visit to C’Ville!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rooster Hill during our long weekend stay in Virginia. The location of this B&B is wonderful if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet still be close enough to attractions such as the Monticello, the Blue Ridge mountains and the numerous wineries in the area.
Larry and Dina are excellent hosts and both made us feel extremely comfortable and welcome. We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms, which was very spacious, absolutely spotless, had all the necessities for an enjoyable stay and was beautifully decorated.
I read the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking the room and our experience confirmed that everything positive that is written here about Rooster Hill is more than true. I would recommend Rooster Hill to my friends and family and we will definitely stay there again.
Thank you, Larry and Dina!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews