We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

From immaculate rooms and bathrooms to the gracious and helpful front desk staffs, I give the Hilton Garden Inns 5 stars (unless there's a higher rating!) The breakfast buffet has fresh fruit, in addition to several other items. And the coffee's great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    264
    78
    23
    14
See reviews for
328
312
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

It was a pretty unpleasant experience from the beginning.

I was in the smoking room and the first day I found the door open and a bottle of open, half gone coke on the counter, and it smelled like somebody recently smoked in there.
When I called the front desk they said nobody was in the room for 3 days, so I can only assume the staff use it from time to time? They just said if I find something bad with the room to let them know, I dint find anything else. Not to mention the front desk was a little bit tired and they were messing up whether I had breakfast included or not (which I knew I had), and in the end I finally got my coupons.
Another thing that disturbed me was the fact that I put a tray of the leftover food in front of my door in the evening, the same time as the person that was in front of my room, in the morning his was gone and mine wasn't, I don't know if he took it himself in the morning. At 3 p.m. my evening tray and my breakfast tray was still in front of my room.

Except for the recent used room, it was average, absolutely nothing special, the bed was not very comfortable.

The only good things were that the food was delicious, and the shuttle service.
Overall it was disappointing, the staff wasn't very responsive to the problems and they didn't offer any kind of compensation for the state that we found the room in, or for the fact that we had food piling up outside our door.
For a hotel that praises itself in valuing the costumer and charges at such it was a letdown for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Overall the hotel was clean and in good condition. The carpet being replaced on the floor where I was staying, so when we checked in the front desk asked that we carry our rolling suitcases instead of wheeling them to our rooms. When I got upstairs the hotel staff was wheeling carts and equipment around on the floor. The floor was messy with scraps of carpet pad and toxic glue smells.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Hilton Garden is on the east end of town, close to where 64 and 250 meet, and not far from the historic downtown. It's got terrific rooms, a beautiful area to walk, with ponds (and swans!), and lots of green rolling hills. The breakfast is a cut above the standard, and people are very attentive. Starbucks is about a quarter mile away in case you need it, along with a grocery store. Charlottesville gets packed at certain times, and this is a very good alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I arrived at the Hilton Garden Inn late in the evening and was so happy to see two people from the hotel standing in the parking lot. One was obviously watching the lot and it made me feel very good to get out of my car and take my time collecting my luggage with him watching.

The front desk men were very welcoming and quickly checked me in. My room on the third floor was bright and clean and the furniture was standard Hilton with the exception of the upholstered chair in the room, which was small, uncomfortable to sit in and a very ugly and uninviting gray. The room needed a nice love seat but since I was just staying the night it didn't matter. The bathroom had clean, new fixtures and a spotty granite countertop. The shower was not great looking because it had a very torn and wrinkled shower curtain. The toilet was also very short - almost child height. While not being up to Hilton standards at all, the bath was clean and functional.

In the morning there was noise from the plumbing in surrounding rooms but the polite guests who woke before me showered quickly, didn't turn on their TVs and shut their room doors quietly so I was able to sleep late.

Breakfast was not included in the high price of the room and was, well, pricy. If you wanted anything hot it was $10 plus a tip for the waitress and a separate a tip for the happy cook. The cold buffet was $5 I think but it looked pretty cold to me. My pricy omelet was good, though.

The public areas are spacious and nicely decorated and I enjoyed being able to meet family members driving in from another town downstairs in the morning. Front desk staff gave me a small card with directions to Monticello, much appreciated.

It seems that rooms in Charlottesville book quickly and I got one of the last rooms in this hotel so don't do what I did and wait until the day of your visit to reserve a room, because I had to pay full price. This hotel is an older property that was very nicely renovated (no paint drips, crooked toilets, tiles and light plates here) however the hotel doesn't really offer a Hilton experience upstairs. That being said, the public areas are pretty and if you're a woman traveling alone, it's a safe place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner201009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My overall experience with this hotel was excellent, from the time that we checked in until our departure on Monday morning. The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and a warm hello as we walked in or walked past from our room to the entrance and were always ready to help if needed. They also provided directions to and from the hotel to Monticello, a handy tool to use with step by step guidance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank keithb667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the comfort, convenience, service and quality offered. Along with the comfortable rooms, the available amenities from exercise, pool, lounging area in a great room with fireplace and big screen TV to the incredible hot breakfast selection offered - good quality and tasty eats at a 'super' reasonable price. I'll be frequenting them often in my travels for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroEclectico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
888 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
971 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
742 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing