We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch after touring Monticello!”

The Ordinary at Michie Tavern
Ranked #13 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Lake City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch after touring Monticello!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Michie Tavern is closely located to Monticello which made it a great place to stop for lunch. The staff is very polite , welcoming and very helpful. We were traveling with a baby and a small child and had many staff members ask if we needed additional help. The food is buffet style fried chicken, pulled pork, green beans, etc with waitresses available to serve second portions.
After lunch we strolled through the different gift stores on site. Very fun lunch, great food and atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank movingexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    230
    120
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not pass up this little gem!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were steeped in history all around us we savored a delicious lunch. We enjoyed conversations with several of the staff as we explored the entire property and historic buildings. A delightful place to bring family and friends for lunch or hold a special event.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“its what you would expect but overpriced”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The food was fine, stewed tomatoes, fried chicken, cornbread, black eye peas etc...I would suggest going into town instead and or some local resturants on the outskirts of town. You can find the same thing with cheaper prices

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbpoms98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Go to Michie Tavern if You Want Some Real Southern Style Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are looking to experience some traditional, old, southern cooking, this is the place.
I grew up in the south and the food reminds me of what my family traditionally ate. If you are only into eating health foods, this may not be for you. Traditional southern cooking incorporates lots of salt, fat and sugar in everything, including vegetables and meats. Don’t expect détente-cooked veggies here. But do anticipate having all you can eat fresh coleslaw, pork Bar-B-Que, southern fried chicken, roasted chicken, and vegetables that may leave you guessing as to what they are. You pay for dessert separately. Skip the peach cobbler. It tasted like the peaches came from a can, even though peaches were in season at the time. Virginian wines and beers are served at an additional cost. Wine by the bottle is reasonably priced. If you buy a “cup” of wine for $4.95, just be aware that it is a small cup, not one of the large cups that you see in the baskets. If you eat before 12 noon, you get $2 off each meal and some money back on any tours you pay for. Allow yourself some time to explore the grounds, shops and museum. This is an interesting place to eat before or after a visit at nearby Monticello.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Historic Food in Historic Tavern”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Only open for lunch. Buffet only. Menu includes fried and baked chicken, stewed tomatoes ( their speciality), green beans, black eyed peas, slaw, mashed potatoes, beets, biscuits and corn bread. Peach cobbler for dessert.

My picky child said the chicken and biscuits were great...and enough for lunch.

Fun place for lunch- we were seated quickly in spite of it being very busy.

Helpful?
Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ordinary at Michie Tavern also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Ordinary at Michie Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing