We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michie Tavern

Michie Tavern
Ranked #1 of 22 Shopping in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic tavern (ca. 1784) originally located on Patrick Henry's land. Living-history tours are conducted on the grounds of its current location near route Va 20.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Had lunch here after exploring Monticello. Great southern friend chicken with stewed tomatoes and dessert. Found the recipe online and tried to re-create it but I just couldn't. Stop in to this place and enjoy!

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank SunkissedAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    327
    164
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
571 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Nice Guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Michie Tavern tour is great. The tour guide was very nice, and there were some interactive games. I highly recommend this tour. We did not have lunch, so cannot comment on the value of that.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
278 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Rip off + Poor Service + food not available”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We went to Michie Tavern around 3:00, it was described as a southern buffet, not a lot of selections for a buffer; drinks and dessert were extra; when we went back for seconds the food had already been put away, they finally did bring us our desserts after finally flagging down one of the servers. Our bill without tip for 2 was $47.00 + UNBELIEVABLE

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Fried Chicken is the best chicken EVER! The peach cobbler is the BEST. I love everything about this place! the Food is just GREAT!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food poisoning from Michie Tavern”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had a great morning at Monticello, but our trip was nearly ruined by food poisoning from our lunch at Michie Tavern. Probably the cole slaw or stewed tomatoes on the over-priced cafeteria line. Avoid this place, we wish we did.

Helpful?
6 Thank traveler20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michie Tavern also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Michie Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing