We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but sterile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very new...spotless, very comfortable. About 1.5 miles from downtown.
Couldn't have been more comfortable. White duvets, down pillows...Terrific!
Had appealing 24 hr room service; but I didn't try it.
In a kind of strange location behind a mall. So new that the street doesn't show up on GPS.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello Snowbunny,
Thank you for sharing the kind words in regards to our hotel. We do offer our Gallery Menu 24/7 which guests do seem to enjoy. We continue to have issues with Bond Street not showing up on many GPS devices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 757 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Front desk experience at check-in was top notch: fast, efficient and genuinely friendly. All staff were friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are large and comfortable with an ultra modern feeling. Included buffet breakfast was much better than the usual fare with good selections of fresh fruits, cereals, breads, juices and eggs. The coffee was all Starbucks blend and was plentiful and excellent. Overall, a great bargain and an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Reg,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the statements regarding the friendliness of staff. The team works very hard and takes a lot of pride in the hotel. I know they will be excited when I share your comments with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A newly-built Hyatt Place in the busy generic commerical strip of Charlottesvile. Could've been anywhere in the United States - plenty of commerical establishments around, but need a car (except for the movie theaters directly next to the hotel). The address is new, so your GPS won't find if its over a year old. If you like being in the thick of it downtown, near UVA, this is not your hotel.

Try Bodos Bagels for breakfast/lunch. Hotel breakfast was OK, but quick to run out. The hotel could work on this, but sometimes there is only so much you can do when everyone at the hotel desends upon the breakfast area at the same time. I suggest "to-go" yogurts and cereals, although this may not be as environmentally correct. Also try a trip into the small artsy/craftsy village of Belmont - with Belmont BBQ and a pricy restaurant with room-top al fresco seating. There was an outdoor festival in the Sunday night we were there, really cool.

Staff was very friendly. Check-in was slow because there's only two terminals, so despite the fact there were four employees, they could only check in two at a time. One ee offered water and mini-cappacinos while we waited: excellent on-your-toes thinking of an empowered ee.

Hot water broke early next morning and wasn't fixed until after nine a.m. I think this, and ee training, is because the hotel is new, so they are working out the kinks. I think in a few months, this might be a five-star, except that the location - which is not in downtown - holds it back, although some car-based folks may like this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello M B,
What a wonderfully detailed review. We did have a hot water issue that morning and I apologize for the inconvenience. The shopping center has lots to offer, but we are three miles from the "heart" of downtown. Currently I feel you will find our rates under the downtown hotels in order to compensate. I am happy you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We were visiting the University of Virginia campus and searching for an affordable hotel nearby. The Hyatt has excellent proximity to UVa --- easy drive down one main road and you're there. This Hyatt Place is new and clean. The design of the rooms is cool and functional. The complimentary breakfast was the best we had on our week-long college tour of the Southeast where we stayed at a variety of hotel brands. The area immediately around the Hyatt Place is also nice with lots of restaurants and shops in walking distance. This Hyatt Place sits within a newly built "town center" retail area. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned about the Pets Allowed policy because we have one child who is allergic to pet dander. But he had no problems during our stay. I highly recommend the Hyatt Place in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello Stephen,
Thank you for making us a part of your college tour. If your child decides to become a WaHoo, I hope to see you over the next four years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful, clean, large rooms with really pleasant and helpful staff. The only down aide was that we were visiting the university and had to drive (5 min) there. Otherwise really nice and a good value,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 498JenniferT596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Jennifer,
We hope you enjoyed the visit to UVA. As stated, it is about a five minute drive to both UVA and the Downtown Mall. I am glad you felt we were priced appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited with two younger boys for spring break, and were happy to find this place. It isn't a very long drive to Luray Caverns (the point of our stay), and is very close to downtown Charlottesville. It's location was perfect for us. Very friendly front desk, and with everything new throughout, we found our room I'm perfect order. Each morning, even with a big crowd, the breakfast area remained well-stocked and clean. My whole family was pleased with our stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank VirginiaVisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello VirginiaVisits,
We are happy to have had the chance to host your entire family. We are lucky to not only have UVA three miles away, but you can also be to the top of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Skyline Drive in just 25 minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

New and a great location! Close to Monticello too. Movie theater next door. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. There is an issue with the address and our GPS. The road that this hotel is located on is new and the GPS did not pick it up but it did get me within a block of the hotel so find the large theater and know that it is behind it. The breakfast is included with lots of choices although not quite palatable to children. There is parking in the lot behind the hotel and in front of the hotel. We parked in the back. The rooms are spacious, new, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful with our questions about the area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks at the back of the hotel. It's not as busy in the back and the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello TheSouthernBelle,
Thank you for staying with us. Mention of the rear lot is helpful. Access to the hotel is far easier than using the front lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
945 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlottesville

Address: 2100 Bond St, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1310
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $134 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 137 guest rooms, the HyattPlace Charlottesville is centrally located at US 29 and Hydraulic Road. The hotel is in close proximity to the Historic Downtown Mall, the University of Virginia and John Paul Jones Arena. Our guests will enjoy daily complimentary breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi with remote printing capability, our Fitness Center featuring Life Fitness equipment, Heated Indoor Pool, The Gallery 24/7 menu, Grab & Go Bakery, Starbucks and full bar featuring local beer and wine. Our hotel is LEEDS certified and we offer 2 car charging stations on property. Nestled at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Albemarle County, Charlottesville has become a popular culinary destination complimented by our award winning local vineyards and breweries. Shopping enthusiasts will want to visit the Shops at Stonefield or nearby Barracks Road Shopping Center. Entertainment is abundant with multiple venues located on our Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall including the Ntelos Wireless Pavilion, The Jefferson Theater, The Paramount Theater and The Southern as well as the nearby John Paul Jones Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing