We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Food!”

Salt Artisan Market
Ranked #15 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Salt, located on Thomas Jefferson Parkway between Monticello and Ash Lawn-Highland, is a market focused on locally-sourced products with emphasis on artisan cheeses, meats, charcuterie, sandwiches, and specialty prepared foods.
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Original Food!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stopped here on our way from Monticello to Ash Lawn Highland and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food in this quaint, little place. The owner is great and very informative and the menu features something for everyone. Our sandwiches were delicious and refreshing, not the usual fare, and prices were good. Obvious care and thought given to the food. The owner is to be commended. Definitely a place to stop, even if just for one of her peanut butter and jelly cookies!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    58
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We live in Richmond, but whenever we are anywhere near Charlottesville, we plan our day around lunch at Salt. On Thursday we took some out-of-town guests to Monticello, then stopped at Salt for the charcuterie and a baguette. We went to Jefferson Vineyards for a picnic - the food was just perfect. Everything I have ever had here is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sandwiches”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

At first glance, you might think this is just any other Southern general store. That impression couldn't be farther from the mark. The service was great, the sandwiches were amazing. And priced correctly, which is rare for a gourmet eatery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brunch at Salt Artisan Market”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We ordered a delicious brunch at the Salt Artisan Market and ate it outside. The Market is housed in an old 1930's converted gas station, and the surrounding countryside is very picturesque.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 79GailB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford CT
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A MUST Stop in Charlottesville”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

In Spanish when something is really and truly mouth watering good, a common phrase is to call the food muy rico. My meal at Salt es muy rico. Loved the place as soon as we were walked in and were greeted by the owner Barrett. After learning a bit about the Local Soul, which on this day was tofu with kimchi and an incredible fig chutney, I was sold. Barret even made a spot-on recommendation for which bag of chips to select! First bite, my wife says "So how is it?"..my response "WOW!" and that response was spot on. A flavor burst would be insulting, it was more like a flavor tapestry. Bite after bite, I couldn't get enough. Tofu, perfectly prepared, baguette, perfect host for the ingredients; kimchi just the right amount of heat; chutney, it was incredible. Such a lovely experience, especially when Barret took time out of her busy lunch period to stop and just chat with us. I almost made the mistake of leaving Charlottesville without stopping here and luckily I did not make that mistake. If you love good food, make this a must stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Artisan Market also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Salt Artisan Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing