We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Salt Artisan Market
Ranked #15 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Salt, located on Thomas Jefferson Parkway between Monticello and Ash Lawn-Highland, is a market focused on locally-sourced products with emphasis on artisan cheeses, meats, charcuterie, sandwiches, and specialty prepared foods.
On the open sea
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location to Monticello and Highlawn, limited menu but sandwich was fresh and tasty. Lots of outdoor seating. Nice option if you like the offerings of sandwiches or cheese platters that day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wander_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    58
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch stop!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

If in the vicinity of Monticello, pass by the noxious, overpriced Michie Tavern and and choose Salt Artisan Market for lunch. It has a small menu of sandwiches, salads, soups and baked goods. Service is very friendly and quick, considering the quality of the fare. I had an exquisite blt with home grown tomato, lettuce, and thick, delicious bacon. The English muffin was very tender and tasted home made. My friend raved about the cheese plate which included a generous selection of locally made cheese and salami. Spiced nuts and several gorgeous blackberries rounded out the plate. This would be perfect to bring along to a vineyard, in fact the Jefferson Vineyard is located directly across the street with a lovely mountain view. There are a couple of small tables inside the Market and several picnic tables outside. My only complaint is that no rest room facilities are available and one must truck across the road to the Jefferson Vineyard for that. Not too great if you have young ones along or prefer to freshen up before eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plant-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We planned to stop here for lunch on our first day in Charlottesville after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was more than I expected. Simple menu of sandwiches and salads and very friendly service. We were traveling with our 3 kids, one a baby so we were able to put down a blanket outside and have a picnic. Right across the street is the Jefferson Vineyards and Monticello is right down the street. Beautiful area. It was a wonderful first stop on our trip!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmae2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss this quaint little sandwich shop”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped for lunch on our way to Monticello and Jefferson Winery. What a pleasant surprise. The sandwiches were delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Since it was Sunday, they delivered our lunch to the Jefferson Winery which was across the street so we were able to enjoy our lunch outside on the shaded deck at the winery--with a bottle or two of wine--of course. I had a chicken salad sandwich which was fresh and tasty. I'd definitely come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Came across this place traveling from James Monroe's estate going to Monticello. Great place to stop for lunch with excellent artisan sandwiches. 3 cheese grilled cheese and chicken salad sandwiches were great. The people running the place are very friendly.
Try the cherry soda they sell. It was really good!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NjYankeefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Artisan Market also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Salt Artisan Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing