We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Old Mill Room

Old Mill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Mill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Berwick Road
Description: In 1965, Boar's Head set out to create a dining experience that celebrates innovation blended with Southern style blending culinary artistry and classic elegance. Today, culinary tradition and passion for inspired cuisine continues. Our extensive wine and brew lists pair perfectly with a range of fresh, bold flavors that change with the seasons. A 2013 Wine Spectator Award Winner. AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant for 27 years running. From classic bistro fare and grill favorites, to fine dining at the Old Mill Room Restaurant and our extravagant Sunday Brunch-a true culinary adventure awaits you at Charlottesville's Only Four-Diamond Resort. Boar's Head is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The room is very pleasant and quiet, a wonderful place for old friends to catch up [as we did].
Service is excellent and highly professional.
The food, however, is just OK, and overpriced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schvitzNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Courtney_Roane, Director of Food & Beverage at Old Mill Room, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor post! We take great pride in the service we provide to our guests, and take your comments seriously. We were thrilled with your remarks about our staff. However, we apologize that we fell short of your expectations regarding the food. We hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our local farm-to-table cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    82
    26
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, PA
2 reviews
“Boar's Head Inn, Old Mill Dining room.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

First time eating there. Had lunch. Food was very good but the service was spectacular. We felt we were the only ones in the room and our server Nancy couldn't have been more accommodating to our party of 8.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Old Mill Room”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

It's a delight eating here at any time. The weekday brunch is exceptional: a large variety of hot and cold items, including their renowned spicy peanut soup, and fabulous desserts. One would be hard pressed to find a better brunch anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzie2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service...mostly great food”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came to celebrate a recent move to Charlottesville. The service was impeccable. My husband had the lamb shank which was fall off the bone tender and delicious. I had the crab cake, which had too much filler for my liking and was served with a very sweet slaw. The savory and the sweet did not compliment each other well. I would return again, but would choose a different entree.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriceMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Courtney_Roane, Director of Food & Beverage at Old Mill Room, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor post! We never want you to be disappointed. Next time, please feel free to express your preference/disappointment. Our wait staff is very knowledgeable about our offerings so please ask them to help guide you in your choices. Thanks for giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Anniversary Luncheon”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been coming to the Boars Head for luncheons since we moved to C'ville 48 years ago.
It has such a great variety of food that everyone can be satisfied. Being able to have our meal reflect the days of Thomas Jefferson with the Peanut Soup and Trout was a reminder we live in this historical place. The desserts are always something you need to save plenty of room for as they are ones I have not seen duplicated anywhere in my travels. I always hope they have the bread pudding with that to die for vanilla bean sauce..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mill Room also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Old Mill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing