We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Personified - A Foodie's Delight”
Review of Old Mill Room

Old Mill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Mill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Berwick Road
Description: In 1965, Boar's Head set out to create a dining experience that celebrates innovation blended with Southern style blending culinary artistry and classic elegance. Today, culinary tradition and passion for inspired cuisine continues. Our extensive wine and brew lists pair perfectly with a range of fresh, bold flavors that change with the seasons. A 2013 Wine Spectator Award Winner. AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant for 27 years running. From classic bistro fare and grill favorites, to fine dining at the Old Mill Room Restaurant and our extravagant Sunday Brunch-a true culinary adventure awaits you at Charlottesville's Only Four-Diamond Resort. Boar's Head is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service Personified - A Foodie's Delight”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Recently enjoyed a superb dinner at The Boar's Head Inn in the Old Mill Room while entertaining guests from out of town. The four different appetizers and dinners were all impeccably served by Nancy with a wonderful supporting cast. This experience provided us with some of the most attentive and impeccable service in the wonderfully charming ambiance of a room overlooking beautiful grounds, gardens and a lake. The menu is creative and thoughtfully presented to appeal to a wide variety of tastes and desires and Executive Chef Bill Justus shows his culinary skills in each beautifully presented dish. Kudos to this fine establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    80
    26
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Birthday dinner with my daughter. Seared foie gras and lump crab appetizer were lovely. Great cocktail menu as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're looking to slow down and eat in peach and quiet, with old world service and attention, and real linens, then this is the place to go. Located in the Boar's Head Inn and Spa. They have an extensive brunch and the food is very good. There is an outside dinning area also in good weather.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Mae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were seated promptly, but by a young expectant Mom who obviously was not having a good day and couldn't even come up with a smile let alone a pleasant welcome. We then waited ten minutes to be offered a drink and had to ask for bread for our table. When our waiter brought our drinks he unexpectedly asked if we were ready to order and we said we would like to enjoy our drink for a few minutes and then we proceeded to wait another 15 min before he returned to take our order. The meal was average for the pricing. The seared foie gras was overpowered by the buttermilk cornbread it was served on, the crab cake was more filling than crab. The pork tenderloin was the better of our choices and dessert was quite good. Service is the key though. Sometimes restaurants that have been touted over the years as THE place to go, sometimes forget the basics of really good service and the public who maybe isn't part of the crowd that always visits, are put off by pretentiousness and poor service. It is a lovely facility, but without pleasant, attentive service it is a turn off.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Courtney_Roane, Director of Food and Beverage at Old Mill Room, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Lynn,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience in the Old Mill Room at the Boar’s Head Resort. We take great pride in the service we provide to our guests, and take your comments seriously.
Lynn, please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your recent visit in more detail because the Old Mill Room at Boar’s Head wants to be THE place to go for you when you are in Charlottesville.

Cordially,

Courtney R. Roane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went with friends for dinner on Sat. night. Great place, excellent service and dinner was wonderful. Our waitress, Nancy did an excellent job. We will surely come back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mill Room also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Old Mill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing