We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy setting at a Charlottesville institution” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mill Room

Old Mill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Mill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Berwick Road
Description: In 1965, Boar's Head set out to create a dining experience that celebrates innovation blended with Southern style blending culinary artistry and classic elegance. Today, culinary tradition and passion for inspired cuisine continues. Our extensive wine and brew lists pair perfectly with a range of fresh, bold flavors that change with the seasons. A 2013 Wine Spectator Award Winner. AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant for 27 years running. From classic bistro fare and grill favorites, to fine dining at the Old Mill Room Restaurant and our extravagant Sunday Brunch-a true culinary adventure awaits you at Charlottesville's Only Four-Diamond Resort. Boar's Head is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy setting at a Charlottesville institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

You expect a high quality environment at this local institution just west of Charlottesville. However, the quality, and sometimes the innovation, in food offerings match the surroundings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    76
    18
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have dined with my wife in this restaurant many times over the last 10 years. We have also invited our professional guests on some occasions. It has always been superb in service, food and atmosphere. Room is designed with a lot of taste and dominated by exposed authentic beams from from the old mill. It also has great acoustic properties so it never feels too noisy. Portions are well sized and there is a great selection of wines as well. Service is impeccable and waiters are very responsive to any special need or request. They also serve excellent lunch and Sunday branch.
In many ways this the place to take somebody that you want to impress since overall dining experience is fantastic . Its is a bit pricy but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brunch is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great selection and great food make the brunch here a must if you're in the area. Peanut soup is very tasty!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chdcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We recently celebrated our daughter's graduation from UVA with dinner at the Old Mill Room. The setting was lovely, and the food was really quite good. We have no complaints.

A recommendation if you are seeking to make reservations for special occasions, call to see how far out you need to book. We booked one month out, as that was their policy. And, check to see if it is a prix fix dinner or a buffet. Found out that they had both for graduation and was glad that we booked the dinner.

And, go a bit early as the grounds are really quite lovely and great picture opportunities.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mother's day brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was a nice experience. We gave it a try because Keswick apparently decided not to do a mother's day brunch this year.

The place was busy and we couldn't get in until 1:30. By the time we left, food was running low and not being replaced.

The food was quite good. The raw oysters were particularly nice as was the excellent roast beef. Crab claws were plentiful. There was a pretty good assortment of the usual brunch kinds of food. I didn't try any of the desserts but I noticed a lack of chocolate, which is probably why I didn't have dessert.

We will probably do it again next year.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wdpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mill Room also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Old Mill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing