We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”

Ace Biscuit & Barbecue
Ranked #95 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently discovered Ace biscuit and barbecue, and we're thrilled. We've been back several times to buy their excellent make-your-own biscuits. The take-out is probably a better way to go as seating is limited, but either way, the food is excellent. We love the biscuit with fried chicken, cheddar and scrambled eggs. We took ours home and ate them with a salad. The other dishes are just as excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoysgoodfood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome for breakfast”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a great little place (and I do mean little) that you would never stumble upon without the advent of word of mouth or social media. We got there Sunday morning to a standing room only line outside the door. The turnover was quick and while the guys were swamped, they got through the croud swiftly and efficiently. We got the Ol' Dirty (fried chicken and gravy on a biscuit with pimento cheese) and a rib meat and egg on a biscuit with hash browns. The food was top notch, we both ate until we hit the bottom of the bowl and then ordered some BBQ to take home. Enjoy, don't let teh location or the building put you off. These guys do it right!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewmasterFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great pulled pork, nc style”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

had a pulled pork sandwich with nc vinegar and cole slaw on a very fresh bun. a very generous portion that was overflowing. others had breakfast which they said was very good. the home fries seemed to be "factory diced" which detracted from the home madeness of everything

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

so tiny yet so charming, delightful folks running it. Amazing homemade pastrami, fabulous biscuits, food with down-home southern flair. Love the pimiento cheese, the BBQ.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“I'm not certain what all the buzz is about”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stopped for breakfast on a recent visit to C-ville. I ordered eggs, sausage, and hash browns, while my son had chicken and waffles. His food was fine as was most of mine. I'm not certain what they cooked the hash browns with, but it gave them a terrible flavor and I didn't finish them. The eggs and sausage were somewhat greasy. There were only a couple other people in the very small restaurant when we arrived, but it was full by the time we left. There seems to be a following for this restaurant, but I found it average at best. Maybe they have better dinners.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace Biscuit & Barbecue also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Ace Biscuit & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing