We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy Original Burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Spot

White Spot
Ranked #149 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greasy Original Burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you have never had an egg on a burger, this is the place to have it. Notorious for long lines after bars close, I had the p,erasure of beating the rush and also have a grills with which is a doughnut on the grill with ice cream. Amusing cast of characters that work there. Great small town vibe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123WorldTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Some Things Never Change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

You know how, if you're lucky, there's a place, or places, at your college/university that remain largely the same after you graduate and become an adult? You'd expect that to be commonplace at the University of Virginia, founded in 1819 by Thomas Jefferson and located in one of the most pleasant and picturesque towns in the US. And it's true, especially at the Corner, a section of University Ave/Main St that's been a center of student life and activity since at least the 1960's, when I was there. The White Spot was the go-to, 24-hour Corner diner for students needing late-night eats then, and it's still the same today.

A few changes have occurred over the years, some good, some not so good: The big confederate flag on the wall is gone, replaced by sports pics and wall-to-wall menus. Henry, and his huge chili dogs and greasy hamburgers, is gone, replaced by Gus and his Greek menu, Gusburger, and equally greasy hamburgers. The diner's size has doubled, having at some point expanded into the storefront next door with actual sit-down tables (the Spot's original counter and stools remains unchanged --- we old-timers still sit there, so we can catch up on the news from Henry/Gus while we're getting fed). And even though Henry is now Gus, you're still warmly greeted at the door when you come in, just like it's always been.

If you visit the Spot, you'll probably have grease on your shirt after you leave. You may have heartburn for a few hours afterward. You'll definitely have some money left after you pay your bill. And you'll be caught up on all the latest news at the Corner. But, most importantly, you'll have joined the thousands --- nay, millions, by now --- of UVa students who have, over the years and at all hours of the day and night, been rejuvenated and made ready to face the next class or exam by the food and friendship found at the Spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RickSchlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on the Gus burger.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a hole in the wall counter only diner located on the corner at UVA. It has been there for years and is widely known for their signature "Gus" burger which has about everything on it to include an egg. By eating this you pretty much have all of the foood groups in one meal. If you like this type of cuisine in a college atmosphere you should visit at least once.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“delightful tradition shared with my family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I occasionally ate at the White Spot when I was a student at UVa. My husband and daughter walked there twice for breakfast on a recent trip to Charlottesville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

What a bunch of mewling, whining crybabies.

I'm 56, my daughter is 15, I didn't go to UVa, we were just in town visiting, so neither of us falls into the category of being a drunk undergraduate. Well, at least, my 15-year-old doesn't.

We stopped in for a Saturday afternoon lunch and had a delicious meal. The cooks were friendly and pleasant. The meals were good. The price was reasonable.

Having left undergraduate school, lo, these 34 years ago, this seems like the sort of place that you know what to expect when you walk in. Let's see...it's across the street from a college campus. It's a diner. It's open all the time.

To complain about drunk undergrads frequenting the place en route to their next kegger is to be naive. Where else would you expect them to have something to eat en route to their next place?

The White Spot is what it is. An all-hours diner across the street from a college campus.

My daughter and I think they do a good job of it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Spot also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to White Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing