We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but what's the big deal?”
Review of Spudnut Shop - CLOSED

Spudnut Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good, but what's the big deal?”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we thought we'd go a little out of our way to go try the donuts. Yes they were good but I wouldn't go out of my way again to get them. The lady that took care of us, probably the owner, was colder than the half and half. Maybe I'm just spoiled being brought up on PA Dutch fasnachts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    50
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Ah, My Little Spudnut!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Fun, fun, fun! The little Spudnut Shop is as cute as a doughnut, a potato flour doughnut, that is...We got the variety six pack and the plain glazed was the best, by far. I'm partial to glazed so it was no contest, though the blueberry was good too - and they were warm. A simple roadside doughnut shop with vast urns of coffee to wash them down...perfect for an on the road stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tojourneywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Potato flour makes a difference”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Old time coffee shop experience. Had fresh donuts and milk for breakfast and enjoyed sitting at an old table among tables of older cronies who clearly meet here regularly! Limited variety, but if you've got a good flavor, who needs more!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizardbeth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Bliss in Belmont”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Open the door to Spudnut's, and you know you are in for a treat, the scent of the fresh, hot glazed donuts, permeates the air. Warning! They are addictive, you can't eat just one, I know, I've tried for the past 22 years w/o success.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kesh_grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary doughnut!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nope, this little mom 'n pop restaurant sells the very best doughnuts in the world! A grandiose statement, but these gems will make you wish doughnuts were on the food pyramid! They are made from potato flour, hence, "spud", , so the consistency is quite different from the ordinary "nut". When warm, as in purchased first thing in the AM or warmed slightly in the microwave, they literally melt in your mouth! I can't vouch for their food, but I understand that it's good, simple breakfast and lunch food.

Best to get the doughnuts as early as possible because they sell out quickly. The chocolate covered doughnuts will make you weep!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spudnut Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing