We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”

The Pointe Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a fun, casual restaurant overlooking Charlottesville's Downtown Pedestrian Mall. Relax and catch up in the cool garden atmosphere of our seven-story garden atrium. We smoke all of our meats on our outdoor patio which is a perfect place for seasonal outdoor dining. Join us for our Brunch on the weekends and our Weekday Lunch Buffet, Specials are made to order; hot and cold entrees and salads are available. Monday - Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. The Pointe's Art of Breakfast will tempt your palate and nourish your body for the day ahead. You'll enjoy cage-free eggs, humane certified bacon or sausage, organic cereals and coffee, fresh and locally made bagels, Danish pastries, and breads, and made-to-order stations. The breakfast buffet is served Monday -Friday from 6:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 6:30 a.m. - Noon. Serving trendy drinks, imported beers and microbrews alongside light lunches and dinners, the Pointe Bar is the ideal place to meet friends or relax after a long day in downtown Charlottesville.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

the food at this restaurant is sooo good! Treat yourself. The portions are tremendous - the club sandwich was so big I had to take the rest back to my hotel room.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hard to believe! This is the place for lunch in Charlottesville, Outdoor lunch, brunch right on the walking mall. Waiter was unbelievably great. Delicious foods- today was focused on beef or pork BBQ, Apricot bread, salads, soups. Beautiful Autumn day in Charlottesville, and eating out on the patio was perfect with th first leavs falling around us. And all for only $9. Imagine you could get a sandwich and chips down the mall for that! And even better? They sponsor the Hospice of the Piedmont.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I don't usually go to a hotel chain's restaurant, but......”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This is my second time here for dinner. Both times I had ordered the ribeye steak. Consistently prepared well and delicious. Ribeyes came with asparagus and mashed potatoes. If your not up for potatoes, ask for a starch alternative.

Trey was very attentive. Overall, ambience is quiet even though there were TVs on. The hotel kept the volume on the TVs at a minimum. If you go for drink, I'd make sure Robert is bar tending. He makes a great gin and tonic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank saintjon76va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great buffet-great price”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

lunch buffet delicious and only $9.00!
One day a made to order pasta bar ,another day custom made shrimp and grits in addition to 2 kinds of soup, salad bar ,hot dish and dessert.All very tasty !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bayside11361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate N.Y.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“I do not like buffets. Usually.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

But this was attached to our hotel {the Omni}, and was good enough that I ate here twice. For $16 you get an omelet station, sausage gravy with bisquits, fresh fruit, bagels, breads, 3 kinds of butter not counting the almond butter, and the usual cereals etc. Everything was of the highest quality. Service was attentive. Even a guy wearing a suit swept up an empty plate rather than wait for a busboy to return from the kitchen.
The 2nd day here, my buffet was as good as the 1st, but my wife ordered eggs benedict she found a bit disappointing- sauce on the bland side- for $12, with a cup of coffee for an additional $5.
So if you are hungry, I would highly recommend the buffet. If not so hungry, I hear the Cuban restaurant a short walk down the mall offers a good alternative.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing