We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad.....”
Review of St Maarten Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
St Maarten Cafe
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sad.....”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Two co-workers and I walked into the restaurant at 11:40 am and had the place to ourselves. When we left at 12:35 there was only one other person dining. This used to be one of our favorite lunch places, but if our experience today is typical we understand why no one was there. One of the daily specials was fish & chips. My co-worker specifically asked if they had tartar sauce and was told yes. Fifteen minutes after giving our order we were told they were out of tartar sauce. Why have fish & chips as a special with no tartar sauce? Plus how hard is it to make or run to the nearest of 2 convenience stores and buy some. Hard to believe they were out of it at 11:40 in the morning with no other patrons. Another co-workers burger came with no tomato and no side of ranch as requested. When the tomato arrived it looked old and dried out. I ordered a bowl of chili which comes with tortilla chips. The chili was nothing like it used to be and the chips were stale. And it took almost 40 minutes to get the food. This is so sad as this used to be a great place to meet friends and co-workers for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agamemnon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“zzzzzzzz”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

i bet most of the food is made from frozen, not fresh; fair at best...why did they reopen? zzzzzzzzzz

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

If you're trapped in Cville, try st maartens. The key west decor lets you pretend you're not mired in the hole that spawned dave mathews. The drinks were fun and weird, the beer was cheap, and the burgers pretty good. The BEST thing about st maartens though is that there are no windows and no college kids.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dylancasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great college bar with reasonable prices.”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stopped in to meet some friends and have some beer while visiting Charlottesville. Very good appetizer of fried onions and jalapeno slices (though a bit greasy, as fried food tends to be). I was very impressed with their beer list, which included Jefferson Reserve, a delicious bourbon-barrel-aged stout with high alcohol content. The cocktail menu is impressive, too, and the low prices make me cry at the thought of ordering a cocktail now that I'm back home in expensive Germany.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank one51s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
264 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“great wings”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

i love their wings. might have the best wings in town. certainly better than BW3s, and probably a little better than Wild Wings. the rest of the food is okay. not good, not bad. decent enough chicken sandwiches and cheeseburgers and all that. it's a bar. i'd recommend coming on tuesdays (at least I think that's when it is, or at least used to be) for their two for one wings specials. the flavor of the wings is as good as any place, but their also a little meatier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Maarten Cafe also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing