We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fajitas are excellent”

Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #306 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Keswick, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fajitas are excellent”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Because of gluten and soy allergies I eat at Guadalajara about once a week, rotating between Pantops and High Street/Market. Both offer excellent, personable service and the food is always fresh and hot (temperature of food, not the spices). Best Mexican food in the area!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank paisleigharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worthy for having brought a family Mexican restaurant to Cville over 20 years ago, but since surpassed.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In the late 1980s when the Guad was about the only semi-authentic Mexican option around here, it felt like an oasis. That feeling was enhanced by the $ 1 margaritas at lunch. But time and the increasing Latino population in the area have caused the Guad to fall behind. It's just an average Mexican restaurant, worthy when convenient, but not a destination for someone with a craving for authentic taqueria fare. For that, head to La Michoacana on High Street (Trip Advisor doesn't have it posted yet, but it's the real deal).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thrifto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Did not even know I was there”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I were shown to a table by the hostess. We waited 10 and one came to take our drink order. We locked eyes with a few waiters. My boyfriend finally went to the hostess and she sent someone over. it took forever to get our food and drinks. the food was okay the service was crap.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great margaritas, average mexican food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Margaritas are great, go for cocktail hour to get good deals on drinks. Mexican food is about average, but I do like the quesadillas here and desserts and good too. Sometimes they have salsa dancing on special occasions

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic Tex Mex”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very good Americanized Mexican food for those days when you know you want it.

Helpful?
Thank ThePixinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing