We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sort of Indian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Reserve with OpenTable
Maharaja is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #252 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sort of Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Most of the food in here tastes the same, if you know what I mean lots of garam masala in everything so it's hard for those who love Indian cusine not to feel cheated with the experience. But if you are in a hurry for a cheap eat then go for it.

Helpful?
Thank marga_toddle-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

From the reviews I expected that Maharaja would be the best choice of the Indian Restaurants in the area--all are close by. There were no reviews on the other two, and Maharaja had 14, so that was our choice. We found the restaurant to be somewhat dirty, and the food was uninspiring. I say this as a fan of Indian food--that's why we drove past maybe 50 restaurants to find this place. Check the reviews on Yelp before you go!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian food in all of C'ville. Butter Chicken is divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

The service is wonderful, the food delectable and the atmosphere is lovely given that it, like many restaurants in Charlottesville, is in shopping center. The butter chicken in so incredible I find I crave it. Try the garlic lamb, the boti kebab, the rogan josh and don't skip the gulab jamon for dessert!

Helpful?
1 Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

A nice little Indian restaurant to visit for the decor and service. Although we are not very experienced with indian cuisine we were happy with our choices. The flavored naan breads are wonderful, my daughter especially loved the garlic flavor. I ordered one side dish that was not delivered, but I was too full to eat it anyway. My husband loves spicy food so he ordered the hottest dish in "indian hot" while mine was mild. Great flavors!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mome2bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reliable, inexpensive, and tasty Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have been to Maharaja 4-5 times and the food has always been delicious. They take the time to assess how hot you want your dishes and seem to have a knack for hitting it just right. The samosa appetizer had a terrific mix of flavors complemented by a yogurt sauce. My wife's chicken vindaloo was very hot, as she prefers, and I enjoyed a medium hot chicken and mushroom masala that was a weekly special. Rice and bread were fine. My only complaint was that the waiter was slow to bring our drinks. The restaurant is a bit hard to find tucked on the far end of the middle island row of stores in the Seminole Square Shopping Center on US 29 (aka Seminole Trail), but there is ample parking near the door. There are several good Indian restaurants in the area, but this one is the oldest, most reliable, and least expensive. There is outdoor seating when the weather is nice and indoors the decor is traditional for Indian restaurants (bright red accented with green and blue). This is relatively small place with a friendly, quiet, casual atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing