We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Birthday Celebration”

The Ivy Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ivy Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ivy Road
Transit: No public transit
Description: Locally-Inspired Seasonal American Cuisine in an historic house originally built in 1789. Family owned business for 20+ years.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Special Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dined here to celebrate our son's 21st birthday as it was close to UVA and rated so highly here on Tripadvisor. The Ivy Inn exceeded our expectations. They went out of their way to make us all feel special, and the birthday celebration was classy -- writing his name on our menus, writing a greeting on his dessert plate. The service was pleasant, welcoming and efficient throughout the evening. The setting is comfortable with lovely oil paintings on the walls and linens on the table. Food was really delectable, worthy of foodies. We were all pleased with our selections -- shrimp and grits, she crab soup, foie gras, ravioli starter, "Greek salad", pork chops, crab cake, trout, cheesecake. And you really must try the Sticky English Toffee Pudding -- mmm. It is on the pricier side -- $200 for 3 of us -- but well worth it for this special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    113
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Southern Restaurant.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went with my son and wife while visiting my son in Charlottesville.
The Restaurant is very nice and comfortable inside. The service is excellent.
The food was great. The "Greek Salad" is delicious with Heirloom tomatoes, olive, onions and fried feta cheese. All of the main courses were prepared well and seasoned perfectly. Everything had a touch of Southern home cooking.
We will go back when we return to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertNuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Deserves its ranking”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were recommended this place by our hotel and it lived up to the recommendation. From the minute we walked in we were well loooked after and the food was really good. If you're after fine dining in the area this place is worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gricper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Simple Elegance”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at The Ivy Inn Restaurant last week. The restaurant is located in an old house and is family-owned and operated. We were seated in the pleasant former front parlor of the house. The tables were spaced far enough apart to be comfortable.

I started with a cup of she-crab soup. It was perfectly seasoned. My entree was duet of lamb Greek-style, followed by English Toffee pudding (cake and pudding) for desert.

The dining room is elegant, the food delicious, and our servers, Robert and Rachel could not have been more professional and helpful.

I'm looking forward to returning to The Ivy Inn Restaurant the next time I'm in Charlottesville.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Diner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I have been fortunate to dine at many of Virginia's best restaurants, and Ivy Inn is amongst the finest. The combination of the ingredients for the appitizer, main course, and dessert were perfectly married creating a memorable evening. I highly recommend an evening at the Ivy Inn for anyone wanting to enjoy an unforgetable event.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkyltspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Ivy Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing