We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STOPPED IN AGAIN AT A FAVORITE - NEVER DISAPPOINTED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Grill Buffet

Wood Grill Buffet
Ranked #62 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“STOPPED IN AGAIN AT A FAVORITE - NEVER DISAPPOINTED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stopped in tonight because we both wanted a little bit of a few different things.... I had fried catfish which was not greasy but rather warm white & flaky, along with some shrimp (I peel off the breading!!) and a few tasty bbq pork ribs. For veggies I had the zucchini, summer squash & carrots along with some small mushrooms, lima beans and cabbage, and of course broccoli as well. To end it I had some honeydew melon and cantaloupe and some canned peaches.
This place is GREAT it is like an Old Country Buffet & Golden Corral on STEROIDS !!! and it is reasonable with plenty of parking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    65
    27
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Easy on the wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is great if you like buffets or are trying to be easy on the wallet.
Has an okay selection of food. Needs more variety

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxan_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wood Grill has it going on. Food and service aresimply fantastic. My favorite place. You could take a bus load of people here and all would be happy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wind W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Every time I visit Charlottesville I go to Wood Grill Buffet. There's is only one more in VA. It's in Harrisonburg. I have been there too but is not as good as this one. There is a great selection, it's always hot & fresh, great desserts and the servers are friendly and attentive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank skpswfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just a superb buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I only wish that there was one where I live, in the Roanoke area of SW Virginia. I spent two nights in "C-ville" on August 26th and 27th, and stumbled upon this place on US 29 North just north a mile from the junction with US 250 Bypass. Ate there both nights. Lots of selections, and all for one price. Carved meats, voluminous veggie and salad selections, a couple of soups, breads and potatoes and rice. But beware, there are about 15 or 20 different dessert selections, too. I am actually glad that I spent only two nights there .... I put on 5 pounds. After a week I might look like a blimp. I cannot recommend this highly enough .... the place is fabulous!! This place reminds me of a Ryan's restaurant ... they too are superb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gruglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Grill Buffet also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Wood Grill Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing