We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and beer!”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #22 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: We've been in Charlottesville since 2001. Our goal is to pair delicious pizza with unique and surprising beers. We are located on the Corner right next to historic UVA. Go HOOS!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good food and beer!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Found this one by chance. Ordered the meatball appetizer...very tasty with the fresh basil. The red potato pizza was outstanding. Very flavorful. The sausage peppers sandwich was good, but we didn't get anything else besides the sandwich....needed chips or something. Great choices of beer on tap....hard to decide which one. A great find in Charlottesville!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brutus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    95
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is some of the best pizza I have ever had from a chain restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am very impressed with the quality of pizza from this restaurant, not cheap, @11$ for a small but well worth it. If you are into beer they have many choices from local micro brewers on tap. Inside takes you back to the 1970's with the decor, nice and not over the top. 3/4 full when we went in and the servers were very busy but they did a good job keeping up with everything. Very good pizza for a chain restaurant we will be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelers4326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
515 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great pizza and service; many beer choices”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was hard to choose between all the different, unique pizzas listed on the menu. We shared the Bayou Bleu with shrimp and chorizo which was incredible. The crust was perfect! I also enjoyed the stuffed Portobello mushroom appetizer. The service was attentive and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and allergy friendly”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went for lunch while visiting, with our 9yr old son who has severe food allergies to milk,egg, beef and all nuts. Along with many gluten free options, they also catered to mainly his milk and egg allergies and he rarely eats a crust but devoured the entire small pie (crust & all). My wife and I tried two or the many interesting choices of pies, finished half and the other half to enjoy the next day. My 6yr old daughter, ordered one slice which was huge, but she still managed to finish. If there later in the day, would have loved to try one of the many "best of micro-brews" tap selection. They have about 20 beers on tap, many of which are very tasty in you like your hops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pizza's UVA Style”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dont let the name fool you, they are known for their pizzas. Beers are a plenty too with 30 or more on tap. Best part are the prices... Go on trivia night and you can join in the games.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing