We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Chinese food" at its worst.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Garden

Jade Garden
Ranked #385 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Chinese food" at its worst.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

After receiving the food for delivery I ended up cooking instead and have the food away. It is cheap Chinese food, but not in the good way. The food lacks flavor, depth, inspiration, and ingredients. I would not even eat this as hangover food.

The S+S pork had more breading than pork, and the pork itself lacked flavor and skilled cooking. The flavor of the sauce was so artificial, It would take dedicated effort to find manufactured ss sauce that was this bad. Dish was a complete waste.

Mapu tofu, fried rice, and egg rolls each win an award for the worst I have ever had.

Chicken wings were the only eatable item. They were cooked with some skill but not with a hint of eastern inspiration.

I may have higher standards than most, but I would not even
consider this as a food source again if it were the last restaurant in CVille.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ubermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good chinese takeout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good Chinese takeout - for whatever reason they have the best lo mein. Everything else I have gotten there has been decent, and they are fairly speedy at getting you your order. I have called driving to them and they have had it ready by the time I get there. The one downside is that it is CASH ONLY.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aemh92510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fast delivery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We've been getting lunch deliveries from this place for years. Food is always hot and delicious and delivered promptly to our back "double door". Lunch special prices are reasonable and the portions are generous. Best Egg Foo Young in town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbk6n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
244 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, but good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Average Chinese food. Good deal of chicken and brocolli, also beef, peppers and rice, each for $5. and change. It hit the spot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
259 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great take-out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

one of the best places in Cville for take out food. coming from New Jersey, where's there's a good chinese take out place on every corner, it's nice to have a good one here in Virginia.

Helpful?
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Garden also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Jade Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing