We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Drink”
Review of Lord Hardwicke's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lord Hardwicke's
Ranked #322 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food & Drink”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have frequented Lord Hardwicke's for many years, about monthly for the last 2 and always enjoy the food and the service. They have a rotating draft beer menu which includes both local and nationally known brews, coupled with an excellent collections of bottled beers. The meals are very tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peyton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    12
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Try their Corn Fritters!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We go here just for their spectacular Corn Fritters, which is not a dish you can find in many restaurants. They are served with a terrific ranch sauce for dipping. Varied menu, food is usually good. They have tvs up for a sports bar atmosphere, which isn't always ideal. Otherwise, I would enjoy the atmosphere here more. It would be nice to have a section that was away from the televisions for those patrons who do not want a tv around them while they eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Serenity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reliably satisfying.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We go here when we want reliably professional and courteous service and decent food that we know the kids will like. A nice old fashioned family restaurant of the type before things got ruined by corporatization, and that has a full bar to keep the parents in line. Burgers and sandwiches are bug and juicy. But the best feature is the waitstaff, who know how to take care if people. They are grownups who are very good at their jobs. Not the disinterested college kids you sometimes see around here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thrifto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have been to Lord Hardwicke's several times before, this was our first visit in several months. Staff had changed, and so had the food. Lunch of sandwiches and fries was mediocre at best; oo little ice in our glasses of soda and iced tea. Friendly but inexpeienced staff. One of us felt sick aftewards. There are better places for the same price and nearby - try the Cav Diner, The Villa, or Applebees.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandPdineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“It's not really a pub, but the food's good”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It's not really a pub, but the food's good. We dined at Lord Hardwicke's when waylaid in Charlottesville during a snow storm. The place was empty and we were one of only three groups, which is maybe why the service was so good. The place as near as I can tell has no bar, which is weird for a "Pub," But the food was genuinely good. My wife's salad was just outstanding. And my shrimp and crab dish was also tasty. Not lively, not a pub, but good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Hardwicke's also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Lord Hardwicke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing