We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Week Highlight”
Review of Bang

Bang
Ranked #112 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Highlight”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We picked this location from 20-25 restaurants participating the Charlottesville's twice-a-year restaurant week. All locations provide a pre fixe 3-course meal with several choices for either $26 or $36 a person. Donations are made to a local charity from every meal sold. In our party of four, our selections included 3 different appetizers, 3 different entrees, and 3 different desserts. All of the selections were extraordinary. We have been participating in restaurant for several years. This was our best meal ever...and all four of us felt the same way. The service was very cordial and attentive. We received great value for our meal costs. This is a sure winner...and others must agree because at the early dining hour of 5:30 PM, opening time, the place became packed in short order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 534RichardL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss" during Restaurant Week”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great food and service. My husband and I ordered the beet and chevre salad and the lamb ravioli as starters, crab cakes and 60-second sirloin for mains, and a mocha chocolate trifle and ginger cheesecake for dessert. Everything was delicious - really well cooked, well balanced dishes, and very creative without being pretentious about being creative. The food was presented elegantly, and the atmosphere was quiet enough to have a conversation while still being fun. The martinis were good too, but the food really stole the show that night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaTS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bang Bang Good!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Right across from the 200 South Street Inn where we stayed. Totally enjoyed the Spicy Shrimp and Lamb Lettuce Wrap appetizers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank whateverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must in Charlottesville!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

With so many restaurants in Charlottesville, you may think to pass this one by...but i wouldn't do that if I were you! This place is so unique, and the food, service, and management are quality. You can tell they have the whole system down to a science. Delicious, unheard of tapas with fresh ingredients and an Asian twist! I love it.
Of course, you also need to have at least one of their equally as awesome martinis! I am pretty sure they must have created most of them because there are some I haven't seen anywhere else. It's definitely worth going in just for martinis, but you'll probably end up getting something to snack on...and then you'll probably decide to stay for dinner. Also, this is a great place for a date or girls night because the food and drinks are absolutely worth discussion...in a very good way!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leora Sheridan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We hadn't been back for a couple of years because we were disappointed by the service. Unfortunately, our most recent visit was equally disappointing. The food was average. My husband and I shared 3 tapas and an appetizer. The time we waited between the first 2 tapas was 20 minutes. After we finished the 2nd tapas, we waited 30 minutes to get the wrong order. We then waited an additional 20 minutes to get the correct order. We ate outside on the patio inbetween 2 very loud parties, making it difficult to have our own conversation.There are too many great restaurants in Charlottesville and we won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bang also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing