We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for an afternoon nap!”
Review of The Nook

The Nook
Ranked #28 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get ready for an afternoon nap!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been here a few times for lunch since I work downtown. They food is really good and they give you a lot of it. As a lunch spot during a work day, i find myself wanting to sleep the rest of the day after I go here. They have an outstanding breakfast as well. This is not for those on a diet or looking to eat light. The first time going, I was excited to try meatloaf. When i got it I thought they had brought the whole animal to the table. The portion was HUGE!

Overall, ideal location downtown for people watching and enjoying everything going on around with their outdoor seating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomCat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    133
    49
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Love the ability to sit out when weather is nice. Food is always prepared correctly and is mouthwatering. Especially love their BLTs which are hard to fit in your mouth there is so much on them!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank klstebbins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This unassuming restaurant in downtown Charlottesville is right in the pedestrian mall. If the weather is good, enjoy your meal outside for a really enjoyable time. Our server was efficient and friendly and the food was very good. Depenable, diner-type entrees and a few upscale options. A pretty good value too, considering some of C'ville's other restaurants can be really pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PineBarrensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Great place for breakfast or lunch! Service is good and the kitchen is fast. No wonder it's been in around so long. BTW try the breakfast burger.

Helpful?
Thank Aloisius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Mac & Cheese ever!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great spot in downtown Charlottesville! Just a short walk from where we parked in the parking garage. Nice American diner but with a little bit of flair. Wine was delicious!! Highly recommend this one!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nook also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing