We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Light Special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Light Grill & Raw Bar - CLOSED

Blue Light Grill & Raw Bar
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Street
Description: Located on Charlottesville's Downtown Mall, Blue Light Grill specializes in fresh oysters, seasonal seafood, craft cocktails, and local beers.
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Light Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Waited only a short time for a table on a Saturday night. Bar area is pleasant for waiting and wine list and cocktail menu are nice. Great burger, and really really tasty mussels! Friendly and accommodating staff. Not much ambiance - but its comfortable and the noise level is manageable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    24
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Bad Kitchen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I generally enjoyed my time at Blue Light Grill, and I rarely ever take the time to write reviews, but there are a few things I would like to point out about my dining experience.

There was an excellent selection of specialty cocktails and our server (I think her name was Catherine?) was great. The food was nothing to write home about, but it was decidedly decent. I found that the service was attentive and our food came out fairly quickly. However, my meal was interrupted by the blatantly disrespectful gentleman with the arm tattoos working in the kitchen.

The open kitchen is a good idea since you get to see who/how/when your food is being made, but not when unruly staff members use such language as I heard coming from this one cook in particular. Blue Light should advise their employees that they are not alone, and they should consider the comfort of their diners. I was there on business, but the amount of crude language I heard made it nearly impossible to enjoy our conversation. I know that as a parent, I would never bring my wife or child back to this establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLightGrill, General Manager at Blue Light Grill & Raw Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review and bringing this issue to our attention. On behalf of our kitchen staff, I'd like to apologize for their behavior. The offending employee is appalled by his own decorum as well as the representation of our restaurant. We hope you give us another chance despite his lapse in judgment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Oysters Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hi! We stopped in for some fresh oysters and a beer while visiting Charlottesville, so glad we did. The service was great and the oysters fresh and delicious! A must visit while in Charlottesville!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited here on a bust Friday night but had no problem getting seats. We were seated outside which is nice to get the full downtown experience.

The service was okay, nothing bad but nothing exceptional. Our server was friendly but perhaps not always available, understandable on busier nights. The food was excellent and came out fairly quickly. I was a little sticker shocked at first by the prices but the plates were piled high with delicious food. I had a burger with fries off the late night bar menu. The burger was cooked perfectly to order and it was a mountain of fries. It was well worth the price paid.

Overall it was great, just missing that little extra for a 5.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delicious food, pretty reasonably priced. They messed up one of the dishes in our party but were very apologetic, corrected it, and discounted our bill to make up for it. A very good experience. Also didn't give us a hard time about separate checks, which I appreciate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbyPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Light Grill & Raw Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing