We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Lunch”
Review of Bizou

Bizou
Ranked #16 of 609 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was absolutely freezing when we were walking on the Pedestrian Mall and just decided to give this place a try. My partner had the homemade pumpkin ravioli which he declared "perfect lunch size". I thought the sauce a little on the sweet side. I had the lentil soup, which was excellent, with a caesar salad.

Bizou has a very interesting menu (Herbes de Provence Fired Chicken, Classic Meatloaf, Crispy Ricotta Gnocchi, Smoked Trout Potsickers) and a rather large beer selection. The place is not overly large and it's very cozy. Fast, friendly and efficient service. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sile365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

A limited menu but lots of good choices, including specials of the day. Duck confit with mushroom risotto and peppercorn cream was excellent, as was appetizer with biscuits, cheese, and bacon. Vegan tamale also was outstanding. Service was good and waiter knew the menu. Ambience is rustic; looks like a former diner.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 658larryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

This was my first time at Bizou and I will definitely return. My friend and I shared the brussel sprout caesar salad which was served warm and was absolutely delicious. Our server suggested the chicken pot pie for dinner and it was fantastic as well - perfect for a cold evening! I already plan to return with my family.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank LHig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Once a month or more for dinner and recently added Sunday brunch. The food is always excellent, the servings generous, the wait staff both friendly and knowledgeable and the wine list wonderful. A true gem in a foodie town!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Definitely will be back! Not a lot of options, but they were all delicious especially the mushroom tamales!
Nice to sit out on the mall and enjoy people watching. Nice ‘New Yorker’ Manhattan

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank TraceM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bizou also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bizou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing