We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner”
Review of Bizou

Bizou
Ranked #17 of 541 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairfax, VA, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We ate at Bizou last week, and enjoyed our meal outside under the trees. The food was good, prices fair. We both had a seafood and linguini dish, and while my husband had the full size portion, I was happy with the small version, though both could have been more generous with the shrimp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    116
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Funky place with good food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had passed this place many times, but never stepped in. We finally had lunch there, and it was great. Had the fried chicken, with mashed potatoes and gravy. How can you beat that!? Yummy! The menu was hard to choose from, as everything sounded delicious. My husband had soup and salad, and it was also very good. Not a fancy place, but we'd come back next time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmb198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in by chance as the menu looked intriguing. We sat outside and had prompt friendly service. My husband had the meatloaf and I had the special sea bass on home made basil ravioli with tomatoes and sage sauce with salad greens on the side and it was amazing. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funky digs, serious eats!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Of all the choices in the Downtown Mall area, one read of the menu should let you know this place is the most serious about food. The narrow storefront of 15 feet or so was half taken up with a window into the cook line, setting the expectation high for a great foodie experience. The narrow entrance is lined with what appears to be the original lunch counter and swivel seats of it's previous diner life. A ballsy wine list with all by the glass selections from France and Italy is exciting for those open to something new, definitely not for the Gallo crowd. Tuna Crudo Tacos fresh and vibrant tastes. Charcuterie tray was an artists palette of house made pate, smoked sausage, even house made sopressatta, with Truffle infused Dijon, and a killer Mostarda of Butternut and Cranberry (so going to steal that tone!). Very respectable Shrimp & Grits (was more focused on tasting just about every wine on the glass list by then), and service by Acacia at the bar made it a perfect first impression. Will certainly return on next visit to Cville.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very pleasant meal with friends”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food was good, though the menu is trying just a bit too much. The service was excellent and worked very hard at making our meal pleasant. The meal was overpriced and I think reflects its location rather than the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bizou also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bizou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing