We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at outrageously expensive prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fleurie Restaurant

Fleurie Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleurie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food at outrageously expensive prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The food at this restaurant is superb, but very pricey. We tried the melt-in-your mouth rack of lamb served with these amazing potatoes. My son had the beef tenderloin that was also amazing. So is the risotto. Desserts that stood out were the apple tart and baba au rum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    36
    18
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Poor service (never acknowledged until we asked; 45 minutes until appetizer served); ordered bottled water and wine but had to ask another wait person for service
At 7:30- first thing we were told was how many things ( on a Thursday night) were no longer available
Fish dish ( halibut,) was tasteless. Pork chop was served with German sides , although a French restaurant- no preview before ordering by wait person
Many other choices in the mall for restaurants or the Ivy Inn which was excellent.
In sum, not worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fleurie: still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been to Fleurie many times and have always found it to be superb. We tried it during Restaurant Week, half expecting a lesser experience due to the crowds. But no, Fleurie once again exceeded our lofty expectations. Each of the three courses was outstanding, particularly the lobster and filet mignon entree. Kudos again to Fleurie, the best restaurant in Charlottesville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivy, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional, again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Six of us had dinner during Restaurant week - a time when most local restaurants have a special menu with a fixed price - and most restaurant week menus have less variety, smaller portions, etc. Fleurie hit the ball out of the park again - an extensive menu, mostly their regular menu items with additions like lobster and filget mignon, plus fantastic appetizer tray, and chocolates after dessert! A great wine list, and very knowledgable and professional service that is also quite friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandPdineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of Charlottesville's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you wan the finest culinary experience in Charlottesville, Fleurie should top your list. Though billed as a French Restaurant, I'd say it is much more than that. The menu varies day to day, or so I am told. On our day, I thought that the selection of menu items was robust. As we progressed through our dinner we found each course a delightful surprise, in ingredients which are local and fresh, in preparation, and in presentation. Every course was over the top excellent. I had the most splendid halibut entree I can imagine; my wife a beef tenderloin that literally melted in your mouth. Quite honestly, I do not have words to adequately describe just how good the food here is.

Not a fast food experience, but elegant. Just not pretentious. The wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable and attentive, but not in your face, or your space. While ordering, our waiter was able to describe the choices in stunning accuracy and completeness, you could almost taste the dish. Yet the real deal exceeded even high expectations.

Nicely done, the restaurant added a few items compliments of the chef. A nice touch, and very complimentary to the courses we ordered. This gesture made us feel especially valued.

Somewhat ironic, this is not a large restaurant, and the kitchen is comparatively small (and obviously visible). Reservations are advised, if not required because of the sheer popularity. There are not that many tables, so someone is going to be sitting next to a door or kitchen. If I had a chief complaint, it is that the restaurant is too noisy to provide the kind of intimacy I like to have dining as a couple.

They do have outdoor seating, though the "patio" is also small. Which leads me to a second drawback: location. Of all the places just off Charlottesville's lively Mall, Fleurie is located on a side street dominated by its neighbor, and you could not imagine more of a contrast in clientele. At the risk of coming across snobbish, wading through the crowd outside next door, could be enough to lead you to turn around. I'd like to say it is eclectic, but they'd do better to be located adjacent to a tawdry strip joint. A top restaurant with an iffy neighborhood look and feel.

Given the level of the dining experience, be prepared for a hefty bill. For three courses and a cocktails apiece, wand a nice tip, we spent to $170. That said, I think that the price is reflective of the food quality and the service, and in that sense a value. You can certainly pay more and get less elsewhere in Charlottesville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleurie Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Fleurie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing